,

Is Adrenaline Shoc Energy Drink Vegan? (Truth)

Adrenaline Shoc Energy
Adrenaline Shoc Energy Drink

Adrenaline Shoc is an energy drink created to energize you for your high-intensity workouts and other physical activities. There’s no surprise why it’s one of the go-to drinks of most athletes. The question is, though, is it vegan friendly?

Let me get straight to the point…

Adrenaline Shoc isn’t entirely vegan because it might contain some ingredients that use animal derivatives. However, I can’t say this is 100% true as I don’t have any official answers, so if you want a solid validation, I suggest you contact the company yourself.

Keep reading for a more in-depth analysis on whether or not Adrenaline Shoc is vegan.

Adrenaline Shoc Energy Ingredients

Adrenaline Shoc ingredients
Ingredients of Adrenaline Shoc

Here’s the complete list of ingredients present in Adrenaline Shoc Energy per 16 fl.oz can: 

  • Carbonated filtered water
  • Citric acid
  • Sodium citrate
  • Natural caffeine (green coffee beans)
  • Potassium phosphate (electrolyte)
  • L-Leucine
  • Magnesium chloride (electrolyte)
  • L-Valine
  • L-Isoleucine
  • L-Lysine
  • L-Histidine
  • Sea salt (ocean mineral electrolyte)
  • Sucralose (artificial sweetener)
  • L-Phenylalanine
  • Acesulfame potassium (artificial sweetener)
  • L-Threonine
  • L-Tryptophan
  • L-Methionine
  • Natural flavor
  • Niacinamide (vitamin B3)
  • Potassium chloride (electrolyte)
  • Ginseng root extract
  • Pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6)
  • Coenzyme Q-10
  • Coffee fruit extract
  • Guarana seed extract
  • Folic acid (vitamin B9)
  • Yerba mate extract
  • Cyanocobalamin (vitamin B12)

Is Adrenaline Shoc Energy Vegan?

For a conclusive answer, let’s look at the ingredients in a 16 fl.oz can of Adrenaline Shoc energy and whether they’re vegan-friendly.

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs It Vegan?
Citric AcidNatural preservative, adds a sour taste to the drinkPlant-based/SyntheticYes
Sodium CitrateFull additive, flavor or preservativeSyntheticYes
CaffeineStimulantPlant-basedYes
Potassium PhosphateMineral SupplementSyntheticYes
Magnesium ChlorideMineral SupplementSyntheticYes
L-LeucineBranch-Chained Amino AcidSyntheticYes
L-ValineBranch-Chained Amino AcidSyntheticYes
L-IsoleucineBranch-Chained Amino AcidSyntheticYes
L-LysineEssential Amino AcidPossibly from animal sources or plant-basedUncertain
L-HistidineEssential Amino AcidUsually can be obtained from animal-based sources but there are organic sources tooUncertain
SucraloseSweetenerSyntheticYes
Acesulfame PotassiumSweetenerSyntheticYes
L-PhenylalanineEssential Amino AcidMight be synthetic or animal-basedUncertain
L-ThreonineEssential Amino AcidMight be synthetic or animal-basedUncertain
L-TryptophanEssential Amino AcidMight be synthetic or animal-basedUncertain
L-MethionineEssential Amino AcidMight be synthetic or animal-basedUncertain
Potassium ChlorideMineral SupplementSyntheticYes
Folic Acid (Vitamin B9)Helps produce and maintain new cellsSyntheticYes
Details of Adrenaline Shoc ingredients

Take note that I used PETA‘s animal-derivative ingredients list as a reference, but you can always check for yourself if you’re still unsure.

As you can see, Essential Amino Acids can come from animal by-products or synthetically made. It’s definitely something to pay close attention to, so I’ll be explaining more about them down below.

Vegan plate
Is it vegan?

Caffeine Content In Adrenaline Shoc Energy

Adrenaline Shoc Energy contains a whopping 300mg of natural caffeine blend of green coffee beans, guarana seed extract, coffee fruit extract, and yerba mate extract. These ingredients are all naturally sourced from plants, so they contain zero animal derivatives.

According to my research, it’s safe to say that these ingredients help boost your mental and physical performance. However, I think regularly having 300mg of caffeine is very unhealthy!

The FDA recommends a maximum of 400mg of caffeine per day for healthy adults, for your information. If you drink one can of Adrenaline Shoc, you’re only left with 100mg amount left in your daily caffeine limit. 

In my opinion, it doesn’t matter whether you have a high caffeine tolerance or not because 300mg of caffeine can still cause some serious side effects if you don’t have any self-control.

Regularly going over the recommended daily limit will lead to health problems such as:

  • Anxiety
  • Insomnia
  • Digestive issues
  • Muscle breakdown
  • Addiction
  • High blood pressure
  • Rapid heart rate

While one can of Adrenaline Shoc doesn’t necessarily make you over-consume, it’s still best to keep your intake for the day to just one can only. Also, you should avoid other caffeinated food and drinks as it may lead you to go overboard.

If you’re sensitive to caffeine, I wouldn’t recommend having Adrenaline Shoc Energy as your go-to energy drink. It’s best to stick to energy drinks that have lesser caffeine content for the sake of your health.

Sugar Content In Adrenaline Shoc Energy

If you’re wondering, sugar generally comes from bone char (animal bones), so the absence of sugar in Adrenaline Shoc Energy makes it vegan-friendly.

Moreover, did you know that the American Heart Association (AHA) recommends that women should only consume 24g of sugar a day while men have a daily limit of 36g?

So, with a sugar-free energy drink like Adrenaline Shoc, you’re less likely to exceed your daily limit, and I’m sure you’re already aware of the health consequences that follow a high sugar diet.

Some major health issues associated with overeating sugar is:

  • Weight gain
  • Heart disease
  • Diabetes
  • Cancer
  • Depression

That said, the Adrenaline Shoc will definitely complement a healthier lifestyle. However, this drink does contain artificial sweeteners, and they are concerns involving whether these ingredients are vegan or not.

Artificial Sweetener Content In Adrenaline Shoc Energy

As an alternative to sugar, a 16 fl.oz can of Adrenaline Shoc contains artificial sweeteners, which usually use synthetic products. However, some vegans avoid them due to the involvement of animal testing.

The artificial sweeteners in Adrenaline Shoc, Sucralose, and Acesulfame Potassium (Ace-K), are generally made in labs using non-animal derivatives. But according to reports, most of their product includes animal testing, which goes against veganism.

It’s also important to note that the FDA approves of the use of sweeteners, but of course, if you’re a vegan for its moral purpose, the Adrenaline Shoc Energy may not be the right drink for you.

That said, vegan or not, I highly recommend consuming sweeteners in moderation as there’s still a lot that experts have yet to learn about them and their long-term effects.

Essential Amino Acids (EEAs) Content In Adrenaline Shoc Energy

Essential Amino Acids (EEAs) are amino acids that your body can’t produce naturally, so you have to get them from protein-rich foods and beverages. While they contain many health benefits, these ingredients may also contain animal sources, which makes them possibly not vegan.

A 16 fl.oz can of Adrenaline Shoc contains the following Essential Amino Acids (EEAs):

  • L-Leucine
  • L-Valine
  • L-Isoleucine
  • L-Lysine
  • L-Histidine
  • L-Phenylalanine
  • L-Threonine
  • L-Tryptophan
  • L-Methionine

The EEAs such as L-Leucine, L-Valine, and L-Isoleucine are actually Branched-Chained-Amino-Acids (BCAAs), mostly from plant sources. So, there’s a high chance that they’re vegan-friendly.

Unfortunately, the other six amino acids are usually present in animal-based products as well as protein-rich foods. There are also vegan options, so the only way to confirm whether these EEAs are vegan or not is to check with the manufacturers of Adrenaline Shoc themselves.

But of course, if you’re more of a health-conscious vegan, you shouldn’t worry much about this drink, as EEAs can help your body perform and function better.

Other Ingredients In Adrenaline Shoc Energy

A 16 fl.oz can of Adrenaline Shoc also contains other beneficial ingredients such as electrolytes and B vitamins, which are vegan due to their synthetic sources.

The electrolytes are mineral supplements, which contains potassium phosphate, magnesium chloride and potassium chloride. Now, why is it in Adrenaline Shoc?

Well, for starters, your body actually releases electrolytes by peeing or sweating, so if you’re an athlete or someone who works out a lot, you may be losing more electrolytes than someone with a sedentary lifestyle.

By having Adrenaline Shoc, you’ll regain those electrolytes, which is crucial to avoid an electrolyte imbalance or dehydration.

As for the B Vitamins in this drink, they help maintain your energy levels for better mental and physical performance. 

All in all, it’s clear that these ingredients are great for your health, and not to mention, they’re suitable for your vegan diet. So, have a can of Adrenaline Shoc when you need a quick energy boost!

Man sweating
When you sweat, you lose electrolytes

Is Adrenaline Shoc Energy Gluten-Free?

If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you would want to avoid products that have wheat, rye, and grains. Thankfully, Adrenaline Shoc doesn’t contain any of these ingredients, so it’s safe to assume that this drink is suitable for your diet.

Regardless of whether you’re on a gluten-free diet to lose weight or suffer from celiac disease, Adrenaline Shoc can fit right into your lifestyle as there aren’t any gluten by-products listed on its ingredient labels.

However, it’s always a good idea to consult with your doctor for a more conclusive answer, especially if you’re highly sensitive to gluten.

I’ve also written a more intensive article about whether or not Adrenaline Shoc is gluten-free, which can help you better understand the topic.

If you wish to learn more about gluten, check out the video below:

Is Adrenaline Shoc Energy Good For A Keto Diet?

Adrenaline Shoc is definitely keto-friendly as a 16 fl.oz can of this drink doesn’t contain any sugar nor calories.

If you’re new to the keto diet (ketogenic diet), it’s basically a low carb and high-fat diet plan. So by practicing this diet, you’ll have to avoid foods high in carbohydrates and replace them with fats instead.

Since carbohydrates are a source of sugar, going on a keto diet can be helpful to regulate your sugar levels. According to research, this diet plan is beneficial for weight loss and those who have diabetes.

That said, Adrenaline Shoc is indeed an excellent choice for an energy drink if you’re on a keto diet, but this doesn’t mean that you should use it as a meal replacement. It’s essential to keep in mind that energy drinks cannot give you the nutrients your body needs to keep going despite how good they are.

Conclusion: Is Adrenaline Shoc Energy Drink Vegan?

Based on my research, I wouldn’t recommend Adrenaline Shoc Energy if you’re on a vegan diet since some of its ingredients may contain animal products. However, this still depends on what kind of vegan you are and how ethical you are in following the diet.

It’s important to point out that the non-vegan ingredients in Adrenaline Shoc are the EEAs, and no one knows their exact amount. Also, there isn’t any official news from the company regarding where they stand on this matter.

Considering all of the factors above, I must say that Adrenaline Shoc may be suitable for you if you’re on a vegan diet only for its health benefits. Aside from the ingredients that are linked to animals, I don’t see any other reason for you not to try this drink.

But of course, if you’re an ethical vegan, I highly suggest going for other energy drinks instead. You can also send your concerns to the company yourself if you’re still keen on having Adrenaline Shoc.

I believe I’ve done my best at guiding you through all there’s to know about this energy drink from a vegan’s perspective. That said, enjoy your Adrenaline Shoc!

Other Articles

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

Where to Buy 5 Hour Energy? (Guide)

5-Hour Energy Review (In-Depth)

Next