, ,

Is CELSIUS On-The-Go Gluten-Free? (Truth Revealed)

Knowing if an energy drink is gluten-free is very important for those with celiac disease. This is equally essential for people following a gluten-free diet.

However, manually checking off each ingredient in a drink will take a lot of time and effort. To save you from this hassle, we’ll help you come up with an answer in this article.

To be specific, we’ll focus on CELSIUS On-The-Go, one of the top energy drinks in the market.

If you don’t have time to read the whole article, then CELSIUS On-The-Go is gluten-free. This is confirmed by the brand with its gluten-free certification.

For those who want a full analysis of my answer, then I recommend reading on to the following sections.

What Are The Ingredients Of CELSIUS On-The-Go?

CELSIUS On-The-Go has a lot of notable ingredients, including B vitamins, extracts, and flavorings.

Ingredient list of CELSIUS On-The-Go
Ingredients of CELSIUS On-The-Go

Here is a complete list of the drink’s ingredients:

  • Taurine
  • Guarana Seed Extract
  • Caffeine
  • Glucuronolactone
  • Ginger Root Extract
  • Green Tea Leaf Extract
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural Wild Berry Flavor
  • Erythritol
  • Sodium Bicarbonate
  • Sucralose
  • Beet Root Powder
  • Silicon Dioxide
  • Cherry Red Powder
  • Vitamin C
  • Riboflavin
  • Niacin
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Biotin
  • Pantothenic Acid
  • Calcium
  • Chromium

In my opinion, CELSIUS On-The-Go is one of the energy drinks that offer a number of health supplements in one serving.

Nutrition Facts Of CELSIUS On-The-Go

Each ingredient of CELSIUS On-The-Go is shown in generous and balanced amounts. This is what we’re going to focus on in this section.

Nutrition facts of CELSIUS On-The-Go
Nutrition Facts of CELSIUS On-The-Go

Here are the nutrition facts based on one packet of CELSIUS On-The-Go:

NutrientAmount per Packet
Calories10
Total Carbohydrate2g
Total Sugars0g
Vitamin C60mg
Riboflavin1.7mg
Niacinamide20mg
Vitamin B62mg
Vitamin B126mcg
Biotin300mcg
Pantothenic Acid10mg
Calcium50mg
Chromium50mcg
Sodium10mg
MetaPlus Proprietary Blend1.81g
Nutrition Facts of CELSIUS On-The-Go

Note that the MetaPlus Proprietary Blend is a collective term for the brand’s:

  • Taurine
  • Guarana Seed Extract
  • Caffeine
  • Glucuronolactone
  • Ginger Root Extract
  • Green Tea Leaf Extract

The specific amounts of each are not explicitly stated.

Is The Caffeine In CELSIUS On-The-Go Gluten-Free?

The 200mg caffeine present in one pack of CELSIUS On-The-Go is gluten-free.

Coffee with coffee grounds
CELSIUS On-The-Go has 200mg of caffeine.

The drink used anhydrous caffeine for its content. This means that it’s harvested from the seeds and leaves of coffee plants.

This also doesn’t use water and doesn’t need much in the manufacturing process.

Hence, you can expect that gluten was not present in the ingredient itself and during its manufacturing.

Another one of the best things about caffeine anhydrous is its vegan quality. You can read my other article if you want to know more about whether CELSIUS On-The-Go is vegan or not.

Since the drink’s caffeine content is more potent and concentrated, make sure to monitor your drinking intake.

This also covers half of the FDA’s recommended 400mg limit. Thus, this isn’t recommended for people that are sensitive to caffeine.

Are The Artificial Sweeteners Of CELSIUS On-The-Go Gluten-Free?

CELSIUS On-The-Go’s Erythritol and Sucralose are gluten-free.

Since the drink is sugar-free, it used artificial sweeteners to give a sweet and refreshing taste.

Additionally, this means that you don’t have anything to worry about when it comes to exceeding the daily sugar intake.

Sugar with strawberries
CELSIUS On-The-Go has no sugar.

In particular, CELSIUS On-The-Go used Erythritol and Sucralose. Here is an overview of the details of each sweetener:

Erythritol

Erythritol acts both as a flavor enhancer and sugar alcohol.

This can be sourced from fruits, fermented food, and mushrooms. At the same time, this can also be synthetically made.

Hence, we can conclude that Erythritol doesn’t come from gluten-based sources. This also doesn’t come in contact with gluten during the manufacturing process.

Sucralose

Sucralose is a zero-calorie sweetener. It’s 600 times sweeter than regular sugar, which assures a stronger taste for the drink. This is sourced from sugar.

Since sugar is the main component of Sucralose, this won’t interact with any kind of gluten.

Overall, you can rest assured that both sweeteners present in CELSIUS On-The-Go are gluten-free.

How Many Calories Does CELSIUS On-The-Go Have?

A packet of CELSIUS On-The-Go has 10 calories.

The source of On-The-Go’s calories isn’t specified. My best guess for this is in its caffeine and extracts. If this is the case, then the drink stays gluten-free.

Moreover, you can expect it not to have an effect on your diet because of the low calories count. This won’t be an issue for those who want to gain weight.

In fact, CELSIUS On-The-Go is formulated to help its drinkers boost their metabolism. In the process, it also claims to burn calories. A study already proved the brand’s said claims.

What Ingredients Are Considered Gluten?

Gluten ingredients usually come in the form of wheat, barley, and rye.

Wheat
Wheat is the usual source of gluten.

Before we go on to talk about whether CELSIUS On-The-Go’s ingredients are vegan or not, let’s first walk you through some examples of gluten ingredients.

Here are some:

  • Flour
  • Flakes
  • Pearl
  • Breading
  • Yeast
  • Wheat Protein
  • Oatmeal
  • Wheat Starch
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Malted Milk

There are more ingredients that you might not know that also has gluten. You can click here for a full list.

Apart from having the said ingredients, other non-gluten sources that interact with gluten are also considered in the category.

Meaning, you also have to ensure that no ingredient in the drink came in contact with gluten during the manufacturing process.

Here’s a video that you can refer to when reading labels for gluten:

How to Read Labels for a Gluten-Free Diet

Are The Ingredients Of CELSIUS On-The-Go Gluten-Free?

All of the ingredients of CELSIUS On-The-Go are gluten-free.

Here is a breakdown of each of CELSIUS On-The-Go’s ingredients, their sources, and if they’re gluten-free or not:

IngredientSourceGluten-Free?
TaurinePlant-Based Sources (Like seaweed)YES
Guarana Seed ExtractGuarana PlantsYES
CaffeineCoffee Plants YES
GlucuronolactoneSynthetically Made YES
Ginger Root ExtractGinger Plants YES
Green Tea Leaf ExtractGreen Tea Plants YES
Citric AcidCitrus Fruits YES
Natural Wild Berry FlavorWild Berries YES
ErythritolFruits, Mushrooms, Fermented Food YES
Sodium BicarbonateBaking Soda YES
SucraloseSugar, Synthetically Made YES
Beet Root PowderBeets YES
Silicon DioxideNaturally Occurring Mineral YES
Cherry Red PowderCherries YES
CalciumDairy, Green Leafy Vegetables YES
ChromiumMeat, Nuts YES
Overview of CELSIUS On-The-Go’s Ingredients

As you can see, the drink doesn’t contain any trace of gluten in its ingredient list.

Are The Vitamins Of CELSIUS On-The-Go Gluten-Free?

CELSIUS On-The-Go’s vitamins are gluten-free.

Here is a table that you can refer to:

VitaminSourceGluten-Free?
Vitamin CCitrus FruitsYES
Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)Dairy Products YES
Niacin (Vitamin B3)Meat, Dairy Products YES
Vitamin B6Pork, Dairy Products YES
Vitamin B12Meat, Dairy Products YES
Pantothenic Acid (Vitamin B5)Organ Meats, Vegetables YES
Overview of CELSIUS On-The-Go’s Vitamins

Some over-the-counter B vitamins contain gluten. However, since the drink used non-prescription vitamins in its content, you can expect that the drink’s vitamins stay gluten-free.

Does CELSIUS On-The-Go Have Gluten At All?

CELSIUS On-The-Go is fully gluten-free.

Since the drink’s caffeine, artificial sweeteners, ingredients, and vitamins are gluten-free, we can conclude that CELSIUS On-The-Go has zero gluten.

The brand’s gluten-free certification can also help you be more assured of this factor.

Here are some other key attributes of CELSIUS On-The-Go:

  • Sugar-Free
  • Zero High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Aspartame-Free
  • Preservative-Free
  • Zero Artificial Flavorings
  • Low Sodium Content
  • Kosher
  • Vegan
  • Soy-Free

I personally believe that the drink is one of the healthiest ones out there. This is also ideal for those who are looking into losing or maintaining weight.

Side Effects Of CELSIUS On-The-Go

The side effects of CELSIUS On-The-Go will revolve around caffeine-related issues.

The only thing that you have to worry about in On-The-Go is its high caffeine content.

Although 400mg is the limit, 200mg can already do a lot for people with low caffeine tolerance.

In fact, even healthy adults can already experience side effects brought by its caffeine content. Here are some symptoms that you should be aware of:

  • Headache
  • Arrhythmia
  • Restlessness
  • Sleeplessness
  • Nervousness

If you feel any of these effects, make sure to stop taking the drink and any caffeinated sources at once. Not doing this can lead to graver issues like caffeine overdose.

To avoid unwanted symptoms, make sure to keep your drinking intake to one packet a day.

Who Can Drink CELSIUS On-The-Go?

Any healthy adult can drink CELSIUS On-The-Go.

Healthy adults can drink CELSIUS ON-The-Go.

As long as you don’t have any issues with caffeine, you can drink CELSIUS On-The-Go.

Here are some more people that can feel free to take this:

  • Celiacs
  • Vegans
  • Religious figures, like Jews
  • Adults who want to lose weight
  • Adults who are engaged with physical activities

On the flip side, you should avoid intaking the drink if:

  • You’re sensitive to caffeine
  • You’re under 18
  • You’re pregnant
  • You’re nursing a baby
  • You have heart issues

If you have a go-to health professional, then you can consider asking them first before drinking CELSIUS On-The-Go.

In addition, you should ensure that you’re not allergic to any of its ingredients beforehand.

Flavors of CELSIUS On-The-Go

CELSIUS On-The-Go has six fruit-based flavors.

Here is a list according to the brand:

  • Kiwi Guava Lime
  • Dragonfruit Lime
  • Orange
  • Cranberry Lemon
  • Coconut
  • Berry

I recommend checking out all the flavors if you can. One of my personal favorites is the Dragonfruit Lime because of the balanced sweetness and sourness.

Where To Buy CELSIUS On-The-Go

CELSIUS On-The-Go is readily available in US-based convenience stores and shopping sites.

If you’re from the US, you can check out your local convenience store or grocery store for retail buys.

For those outside the country, you can check out these sites:

Make sure to visit your local online retail sites to save more money on shipping.

CELSIUS On-The-Go Price

A 14-stick packet of CELSIUS On-The-Go costs around $10 to $27.

Usually, CELSIUS On-The-Go is only sold by box. One box comes with 14 packets. The price will also vary depending on the flavour, and where you’ll buy it.

Price-wise, I think the drink can be quite pricy. However, it’s worth considering because of its very generous health offers.

Alternatives to CELSIUS On-The-Go

CELSIUS On-The-Go is already a good brand, but here are some alternative gluten-free energy drinks that you can check:

These brands also have good offers when it comes to their ingredients and nutritional content.

Conclusion: Is CELSIUS On-The-Go Gluten-Free?

Now, for the good news, CELSIUS On-The-Go is gluten-free.

All of the ingredients, including vitamins, in the drink are gluten-free. There are also no possibilities for cross-contamination.

The brand also has a gluten-free certification to assure energy drink enthusiasts.

No matter if you’re a celiac or you’re simply living a gluten-free diet, then you won’t make a mistake by drinking CELSIUS On-The-Go.

The only issue with the drink is its high caffeine content. If you have a low caffeine tolerance, then it’s best if you only drink a half packet in a day. I also recommend drinking this every other day to lower chances of caffeine dependence.

Related Articles

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

What are the Best Energy Drinks for High Blood Pressure? (Research-based)

Is Relentless Energy Drink Bad For You? (Full Details)

Next