We’ve all read about how G Fuel’s low-calorie count and less sugar content, making it a good option for different types of people.
In most cases, these qualities are what we need to know when deciding on a energy drink or formula.
Given the increasing number of people who are starting their gluten-free diet, it’s important that they also find the right supplement to support their lifestyle.
G fuel powder is great for certain types of people (e.g. diabetic, caffeine-sensitive) but does it also cater to a gluten-free diet?
In addition to G Fuel Powder being sugar-free, it’s also a gluten-free product that’s safe for those wanting to switch up their diets.
How does that work? And what are the benefits of G Fuel Powder in a gluten-free diet?
What is a Gluten-Free Diet?
A gluten-free diet refers to a form of diet that avoids any consumption of products that contains gluten.
Gluten is a kind of protein family found in grains. The most well-known examples are wheat, barley, and rye.
It has two main proteins: glutenin and gliadin. Of the two, gliadin is the one responsible for most of the side effects of eating gluten. Since gluten is found in grains, it’s also found in the products like bread and pasta.
There’s good news though. Nowadays, there are gluten-free versions of food that are readily available in the market. You can also shop for them online. Just remember to look at the labels to make sure that you’re getting the right variant.
Sources of gluten:
- Communion wafers
- French fries
- Imitation meat or seafood
- Soy sauce
- Hot dogs
- Potato chips
Why go Gluten-Free?
A gluten-free diet is the best way to cope with conditions like Celiac disease, wheat allergy, and non-Celiac gluten sensitivity.
Another reason is simply wanting to have a healthier lifestyle. However, there’s no evidence about gluten-free products being “healthier” compared to those on a regular diet.
Still, it can be a healthy way of eating if you choose your food well.
Here’s a video that gives a quick rundown of what a gluten-free diet is. It also explains gluten and the other medical conditions that might make it necessary.
What’s Celiac Disease?
Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder wherein consuming gluten causes damage to the small intestine. This is thought to happen because the person’s immune system mistakes the gluten for a foreign invader and attacks it and the small intestine.
As a result, absorbing nutrients becomes more difficult and causes other problems. Examples of the problems Celiac disease can cause if not accommodated with a gluten-free diet are anemia, digestion problems, and nutrient deficiencies.
Its most common symptoms are bloating, diarrhea, fatigue, and many others that many would find easy to miss.
What’s Gluten Sensitivity?
Non-Celiac gluten sensitivity is a condition where a person reacts negatively to gluten however not diagnosed with Celiac Disease.
There’s no clear definition for non-Celiac gluten sensitivity beyond that. It’s mainly what doctors would diagnose a patient who is exhibiting bad reactions to gluten but already ruled out other diseases.
It shares many symptoms with Celiac disease like:
- Stomach pains
How to stay Gluten-Free?
Maintaning a gluten-free can be difficult if you don’t know where to get your sources.
However, there are a few steps you can take to make a gluten-free diet an easier lifestyle choice.
- Educate yourself on sources of gluten. First things first: always look for the gluten-free label. This is especially true when you’re looking at foods with oats in them.
- Make sure to look at the ingredients list. It’s no secret that you’ll be looking at the ingredients list a lot to make sure a product is safe. More so since not all products that are fine with a gluten-free diet are labeled as such.
- You also need to prevent cross-contamination by keeping gluten-free and non-gluten-free products in different containers. Making sure your cooking and storage also help in doing this consistently.
- Lastly, you need to make a habit out of knowing whether you’re dining in a restaurant offering gluten-free meals. You can do your research or confirm what’s on the menu to see if they can accommodate your specific diet.
Here are some keywords to look for when shopping for gluten-free products:
- Wheat (an allergen warning)
- Malt flavor
- Malt extract
- Malt vinegar
- Brewer’s yeast
- “Wheat”, “Barley”, and “Rye” in parenthesis
Wheat is generally not a gluten-free ingredient but makers have found a way to render it by slow lacto-fermentation with speciﬁc lacto-bacilli and fungi.
What are the Ingredients in G Fuel Powder?
G Fuel has many ingredients. Some of them are synthesized in labs instead of derived from plants. But many of them are derived from plants for one reason or another.
The list of ingredients is also very long and split into four groups namely, Energy Focus, and Antioxidant Complex, plus Miscellaneous Ingredients.
Energy complex is composed of the following ingredients:
- N-Acetyl-L-Carnitine HCl
- Velvet seed extract
- Toothed Clubmoss Aerial Parts Extract
- Bacopa Leaf Extract
- Adenosine-5′-Triphosphate Disodium Salt (ATP)
- Choline Bitartrate
- Cabbage Palm Berry Extract
- Pomegranate Fruit Extract
- Pineapple Fruit Powder
- Apple Fruit Powder
- Orange Fruit Powder
- Blueberry Fruit Powder
- Lemon Fruit Powder
- Lime Fruit Powder
- Melon Fruit Powder
- Sour Cherry Fruit Powder
- Papaya Fruit Powder
- Peach Fruit Powder
- Pyrus Communis Fruit Powder
- Grape Seed Powder
- Grapefruit Fruit Powder
- Plum Fruit Powder
- Raspberry Fruit Powder
- Strawberry Fruit Powder
- Watermelon Fruit Powder
- Maltodextrin (preservative)
- Pineapple Fruit Powder
- Citric Acid (preservative)
- Natural Flavors
- Artificial Flavors
- Beta Carotene (color)
- Acesulfame Potassium
- Silicon Dioxide
For a more in-depth look, head on over to my G Fuel Caffeine and Ingredients article, where I pour through each of the ingredients of G Fuel with a lot more detail.
Is Caffeine Gluten-Free?
Caffeine itself is gluten-free as well as coffee if you serve it black.
Caffeine in energy drinks like G Fuel Powder is usually derived from either coffee beans or guarana. The only way they can have gluten is if they’re processed in facilities that also process wheat and other gluten-containing products.
In that case, it would have trace amounts of gluten via cross-contamination.
Aside from caffeine, there are other properties in G Fuel Powder that are likewise gluten-free such as:
Fruit-derived antioxidants like what G Fuel Powder has are gluten-free. If anything, they’re actually good for people who have autoimmune conditions like Celiac disease.
However, some of today’s diets can be bad in many ways. That’s why scientists in the food industry have been trying to find more ways to substitute for things like vitamins.
This is also why we have things like fortified cereal and nutrients in packaged food.
Antioxidants are no exception. Antioxidants slow or prevent oxidation reactions in the body. This is important since oxidation reactions produce free radicals, which cause the damaging of cells.
G Fuel Powder is loaded with antioxidants thanks to its natural ingredients (fruit extracts). No reason to worry as far as its antioxidants are concerned!
Maltodextrin is gluten-free because the processing of the wheat, where it’s derived from, removes all of its gluten.
The result is a preservative that has “malt” in its name but none of that would be life-threatening nor causes allergies to people who are sensitive to gluten.
Beta Carotene is a food coloring that’s often used in frozen foods, drinks, and candies. Specifically, it’s used to add colors ranging from yellow to orange in food products.
It’s made from corn starch. Since corn has no gluten in it, starches and anything derived from it is gluten-free by default.
Like with caffeine, the only way Beta Carotene wouldn’t be gluten-free is if it got cross-contaminated through the tools and spaces that were used to process it.
Going for a gluten-free diet is one way to keep your body in shape. Although there are restrictions when it comes to certain kinds of food like bread, pasta, beer, and more, there are still options for you to enjoy your daily meals.
One is including G Fuel Powder in your diet. G Fuel is gluten-free, and contains gluten-free ingredients. The official site likewise confirms this and is a great addition to supply you with energy and nutrients.
All of its ingredients specifically the ones mentioned are 100% free of gluten, so it’s safe to consume every day. The same can be said for the antioxidants that help your body fend of strain and diseases caused by oxidation reactions and free radicals.
Even though Maltodextrin may be made from wheat, but it’s processed in a way that completely removes all of its gluten content. Thanks to that, it’s safe for people with celiac disease and wheat allergy.
The Beta Carotene that’s used to give G Fuel powder color is derived from corn. Since corn is a gluten-free grain, the only way it could have gluten is if it was processed with tools and spaces that are also used to process non-gluten free grain products.
With all of this in mind, I think G Fuel can be a great supplement regardless of whether you’re on a gluten-free diet or simply wanting to fuel your workouts, as long as you’re careful of the caffeine you’re getting from it.
For more information about G Fuel Powder, check out the extensive list of articles on the rest of the site to inform yourself further.