Skip to Content

Is Guru Energy Drink Gluten-Free? (Answered)

Guru Energy Drink is non-GMO project certified and verified by USDA organic seals. This means that this energy drink is GMO-free and has plant-based ingredients.

So if you’re looking for a gluten-free option, Guru has your back!

For starters, Guru contains caffeine that is sourced from green tea and guarana seed extract. The rest of the ingredients list is also all-natural.

All in all, Guru contains 100 mg of caffeine and 21 g of free sugars, providing an energy boost that will power you for hours.

Continue reading this article to know why Guru is a great gluten-free energy drink!

What are The Ingredients in Guru?

Each 8.4 fl. oz can of Guru contains:

Meanwhile, there are trace amounts of these other ingredients in Guru:

  • Citric Acid
  • Organic white syrup juice concentrate
  • Apple Acid
  • Sparkling water
  • Natural Flavours
  • Guarana seed extract
  • Organic echinacea flower extract
  • Organic green tea leaf extract
  • Organic Panax ginseng root extract
  • Organic cane syrup

You will see that all the ingredients mentioned above are gluten-free.

Guru Energy Drink Nutrition Facts

Nutritional Facts Amounts
Calories 80
Sodium0 mg
Protein 0 g
Carbohydrates (sugars) 21 g
Total fat 0 g
Naturally occurring caffeine 100 mg

Do Energy Drinks have Gluten in them?

Most energy drinks contain Gluten, but recently most brands have ensured that their products do not contain gluten ingredients such as rye, wheat, etc.

Because in the past few years, product manufacturers have known that people with celiac disease need proper dietary requirements, which is having no gluten in their diet.

Gluten is a protein found mainly in grains like barley and wheat. If you have celiac disease or are gluten-sensitive, ingesting it can irritate your stomach and cause digestive problems.

If you want to know if an energy drink contains gluten ingredients in it, then check for a gluten-free label.

You will be happy to know that most energy drinks like Full Throttle, Red Bull, Monster, and NOS are gluten-free.

Is Guru Energy Drink Bad for You?

If you consume Guru Energy Drink reasonably, it won’t be harmful.

It contains 100 mg of caffeine, which is relatively lower than most energy drink brands. But in my opinion, it hits the sweet spot of giving you a decent energy boost without all the pesky side effects. If you’re caffeine sensitive, Guru can still be a suitable energy drink for you.

However, all that caffeine can quickly add up if you’re not careful so keep it to one can a day only. Plus, you can also get caffeine from other sources like soda and chocolate.

Overall, to enjoy the benefits of Guru, moderate your consumption!

Guru Energy Drink

How Much Caffeine is in a Can of Guru?

The total caffeine in a can of Guru is 100 mg.

The caffeine present in this energy drink is also organic as it was extracted from green tea leaves and guarana seed.

As I mentioned before, 100 mg is pretty low and won’t really cause any negative side effects. However, do take note of the FDA‘s recommended daily caffeine limit of 400 mg.

Exceeding the limit can cause you to experience side effects such as:

  • Nausea
  • Headaches
  • Vomiting
  • Anxiety
  • Insomnia

Also, caffeine affects us all differently. What may be strong for me may just be right for you. If you’re still a beginner at energy drinks, you should start with half a serving first and then gauge how the drink is affecting you.

Is Guru Alcoholic?

No! Guru energy drink is non-alcoholic.

Most energy drink brands don’t contain alcohol. Some people do mix alcohol and energy drinks, though. These mixes can look really fun and interesting, but I wouldn’t recommend drinking them.

First of all, because energy drinks contain the stimulant caffeine, they can mask alcohol’s effects on the body. This means that you can be knocking back vodka shots and energy drinks will make you feel like you’re not drunk at all.

But it doesn’t mean that you can’t feel it that you’re not actually drunk. This can lead to you drinking more alcohol and not noticing your inebriety until it’s too late. You may get into accidents or alcohol poisoning.

While mixing alcohol and energy drinks can seem like an alluring prospect, your safety is far more important than a good time.

How Much Sugar is in a Can of Guru?

An 8.4 fl. oz can of Guru energy drink contains 21g of sugar, which is a little higher than you should consume in a single day.

Since Guru is committed to using organic ingredients, they didn’t use artificial sweeteners but free sugars instead.

The AHA recommends a sugar intake limit of 24g for women and 36g for men. Guru’s 21g is close to that limit, so I wouldn’t recommend the drink to diabetics or those on a diet.

Excessive sugar intake can lead to sugar crashes. Symptoms include:

If you are going to drink Guru, better stick to one can a day only and watch out for other food or beverages you consume throughout the day that may be loaded with sugar.

Is Guru Gluten-Free?

Guru Energy Drink is gluten-free and does not have any gluten ingredients, for example, wheat and barley.

This means that if you have celiac disease, Guru is safe to consume because its ingredients do not contain any gluten at all nor were they processed with gluten.

However, it’s not just people with celiac disease that avoid gluten. Many experts claim that a gluten-free diet can aid in weight loss, improve your skin, and boost your energy.

No wonder so many are going gluten-free!

Guru cans

Does Guru have Taurine?

Taurine is found in fish, meat, and dairy products. Some research shows that taurine helps improve athletes’ performance. It is a significant ingredient in energy drinks. However, taurine intake causes an effect on your brain.

Taurine is included in most energy drinks because of its effect on performance and mental performance and serves several vital functions to your body. It helps to improve a person’s exercise capacity and allows individuals to meet their daily goals.

If taurine is taken in a moderate amount, it won’t be harmful. Although, all Guru energy drink products are taurine-free.

Are Organic Energy Drinks a Good Choice for You?

I wouldn’t really call energy drinks healthy, but going for organic energy drinks can help lessen the chances of experiencing side effects.

Organic energy drink brands ensure that their ingredients are high-quality and naturally sourced. This can result in a cleaner energy boost as well as more micronutrients included per serving.

However, organic brands are more often than not more expensive. They can make a dent in your wallet, especially if you drink energy drinks regularly.

Case in point, a 24-pack of Guru is priced at around $60 on Amazon, not including shipping fees. That puts one can at around $2.50 dollars each. That isn’t awfully expensive, but there are great brands out there that only cost a dollar per can.

Some people may also be allergic to organic products so make sure you check the label thoroughly before drinking.

Energy Drink Alternatives to Guru Energy Drink

Other Noteworthy Mentions

Final Thoughts

Guru Energy Drink doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients such as rye, wheat, and barley in its cans. So it is gluten-free!

The caffeine amount present in this drink is 100 mg which you can safely consume. If I had to rate this drink, I would give it 8/10, which is quite good because of its ingredients.

The caffeine is derived from naturally occurring organic green tea leaves, thus having less harmful effects. Moreover, Guru Energy Drink also contains no alcohol or gluten products.

The one red flag for me would be its sugar content. 21 g is quite close to the daily limit and can quickly lead to a sugar crash.