Skip to Content

Is Hi-Ball Energy Vegan? (Discover)

Short answer: Yes, all ingredients in the Hi-Ball Energy drinks are vegan.

Hi-Ball is a healthy energy drink with the slogan: “ALL THE ENERGY, NONE OF THE COMPROMISE”. It has no sugar, no calories, and contains natural caffeine. Hi-Ball bills itself as “sparkling energy water.”

Its fruity flavor will surely strike the spot for users trying to keep their energy drinks taste light and breezy. “Organic” is the major term linked with Hi-Ball energy drinks.

Hi-Ball takes pride in using natural components but besides all this good stuff, is it suitable for vegans?

Vegan drinks are those that do not include any animal ingredients which means avoiding dairy or animal fat ingredients, and if truly vegan, they will also not involve honey and any product derived from animals.

So popular energy drinks that provide a ‘vitality’ boost, such as Red Bull and Monster, may be classified as vegan because they do not contain any animal products.

Let’s dive in to find out whether all of Hi ball’s ingredients fall in the vegan category or not?

Hi-ball energy drink
Hi-ball energy drink

What Is a Vegan Diet?

A vegan diet is based on the principle that no animal products are eaten. Thus, in addition to a vegetarian diet (which does not include meat, poultry, and fish), vegans do not consume dairy products, eggs, and any other food derived from animals.

Vegans also avoid all animal-derived products, such as leather, fur, and wool.

People follow a vegan diet because of different reasons. These may include ethical concerns regarding the treatment of animals, environmental factors, and health outcomes.

Foods to Eat in Vegan Diet

You can eat the following foods on a vegan diet:

  • Potatoes
  • Whole-grain bread
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Beans
  • Peas
  • Lentils
  • Avocados
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Tofu

Foods Not to Eat in Vegan Diet

The following foods you have to avoid while on a vegan diet:

  • Meat
  • Fish
  • Poultry
  • Eggs
  • Dairy products
  • Bee products

Pros of Vegan Diet

Vegan diets are often higher in dietary fiber, magnesium, folic acid, vitamin C, vitamin E, iron, and phytochemicals. Vegans also tend to have lower concentrations of cholesterol and saturated fatty acids.

A vegan diet has the following advantages:

  • Lowers blood sugar levels
  • Improves kidney function
  • Lowers risk of heart disease
  • Lowers risk of type 2 diabetes
  • Lowers blood pressure levels
  • Reduces the risk of cancer
  • Lowers cholesterol levels
  • Helps you lose excess weight
  • Improves overall health

Cons of Vegan Diet

Although the vegan diet has many health benefits, there are a few potential drawbacks to this lifestyle:

Low in Certain Nutrients

Vegan diets may be low in certain nutrients. Vegans may need supplements to ensure adequate intake of vitamin B12, vitamin D, omega-3 fatty acids, iron, and calcium.

Expensive

A vegan diet can be expensive. The cost of fresh produce combined with the cost of meat and dairy alternatives can add up quickly.

Restrictive

The vegan diet is restrictive. You need to plan carefully to ensure you’re getting all the nutrients you need and avoid feeling hungry or deprived on this diet.

May Not Provide Enough Calories

A vegan diet may not provide enough calories for athletes or very active people, who may also benefit from creatine and carnosine supplements.

Hi-Ball Nutrition Facts

Hi-Ball offers zero calories and no sugar let’s take a look at its nutritional label for more information:

IngredientsDaily Value %
Calories0
Total Fat 0g0%
Sodium 0mg0%
Total Sugars 0g0%
Niacin150%
Vitamin B6150%
Vitamin B12150%
Vitamin B5 (Pantothenic Acid)150%
Nutritional facts
nutritional label of Hi-Ball
Nutritional label of Hi-Ball

As seen above, all the energy in Hi-Ball comes from the vitamins in the drink whereas caffeine, ginseng, and guarana in Hi-Ball, all come from organic sources.

Ingredients in Hi-Ball

Other than water, the only substances in this drink are certified organic caffeine, ginseng, and guarana.

It’s also worth noting that the water used in Hi-Ball Energy drinks is purified. Below is the list of ingredients mentioned on the label:

  • Carbonated Purified Water
  • Natural Flavors
  • Organic Caffeine
  • Organic Guarana Extract
  • Organic Panax ginseng extract
  • Niacinamide
  • D-Calcium Pantothenate
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Cyanocobalamin

Are the Hi-Ball Energy Drink’s Ingredients Vegan?

Yes, all of the ingredients present in Hi-Ball energy-water are vegan and do not contain any trace of animal source.

However, the manufacturers of Hi-Ball also produce some non-vegan products like coffee containing milk and protein shakes made with milk protein.

Although all the ingredients are organic and do not come from animal sources it would be better to buy energy drinks from a brand that works specifically on vegan products.

Is Hi-Ball Energy Drink’s Caffeine Vegan?

Coffee beans
Hi-Ball has caffeine extracted from vegan sources

Hi-Ball Claims to provide 100% organic caffeine to its users. It contains about 160 mg of caffeine without any sugar or calories.

According to Andytherd, organic caffeine is definitely healthier than its counterparts and has more proven benefits like quicker absorption, nutrient-rich, and lesser harmful effects.

Besides this, all this caffeine is plant-based hence it is okay for vegan consumption. Furthermore, guarana and ginseng are also plant-based sources of caffeine in Hi-Ball.

Organic caffeine, plus ginseng plus guarana, that’s a lot of caffeine probably more than 160 mg which is quite alarming for a regular caffeine consumer.

FDA recommends limiting your caffeine intake to 400 mg a day.

Exceeding this limit can cause the following health complications:

Although Hi-Ball has organic caffeine, suitable for vegan users it may a little too much for a single serving. So limit its use to occasionally or one can a day only.

Is caffeine healthy for vegans?

Is Organic Guarana Vegan-Friendly?

Yes! Organic Guarana extract in Hi-Ball is vegan friendly. Each can of Hi-Ball has 50 mg of guarana extract.

Guarana is also known as Paullinia Cupana. Although this amount is quite below the recommended amount for effects, it can give you a decent boost of energy when combined with other ingredients present in Hi-Ball.

According to Healthline, 50-75 mg of guarana is beneficial for you.

Organic guarana extract comes from plant sources, a climbing plant that is well recognized for its stimulant and therapeutic effects.

It has been used for generations for its diuretic characteristics, medicinal benefits against headaches, fever, and cramps, and aphrodisiac powers. It is also a source of caffeine in the Hi-Ball.

Is Panax Ginseng Extract Vegan?

Yes! Panax ginseng extract present in Hi-ball is vegan friendly.

There are two kinds of ginseng: Asian and American. Korean ginseng is red, plant-based, and used in the Hi-Ball seltzer.

It is a vegan-friendly ingredient, best known for its energizing effects. That’s why ginseng is frequently used in energy drinks.

Ginseng promotes mental health, removes anemia, and aids in the prevention of diabetes, neurosis, coughs, asthma, and tuberculosis.

They also claimed that it improves the liver’s health and can considerably minimize the symptoms of a hangover.

Is Hi-Ball Energy Drink Sugar-Free?

Yes, Hi-Ball is sugar-free. It has no added sugar nor any artificial sweetener.

Keep in mind that Hi-Ball is sparkling water that has all the characteristics of an energy drink. Since it is an unsweetened beverage, you must be curious to find out what it tastes like.

It tastes like Perrier with a hint of vanilla; it is not sweet, but it also has no added sugar or hazardous chemicals such as acesulfame potassium, a sugar replacement to which most users are allergic.

How Many Calories Does Hi-Ball Energy Drink Have?

Hi-Ball offers zero calories, with 160 mg of organic caffeine and no sugars.

Most energy drink users who are looking for a diet-friendly option can opt for Hi-Ball since you won’t be worrying about your calorie intake after drinking.

Vitamins in a Hi-Ball Energy Drink

All the vitamins used in Hi-ball come from vegetarian sources. B vitamins are essential to perform and maintain your body functions.

All the B vitamins (B3, B5, B6, B12) in Hi-ball are vegan friendly. Their effects on the human body are mentioned in the table below:

NameFunctions in the human body
Vitamin B3Nutrient conversion to energy
Repair of DNA
Vitamin B5Metabolizes fat
Required for the formation of blood cells
Important for maintaining healthy skin, hair, and eyes.
Vitamin B6Important for red blood cells formation
Important for the breakdown of protein, fats, and carbs
Vitamin B12Essential for red blood cell production, and brain and nerve tissue function.
Functions of B vitamins

Is Hi-Ball Energy Drink Harmful to Your Health?

Hi-Ball’s ingredients are safe for consumption and drinking it occasionally will not pose any harm to your health.

However, just like other energy drinks if you drink too much, it will definitely affect you in a bad way. Excessive energy drink consumption whether it is a vegan energy drink or not can be injurious to your wellbeing.

It can have the following adverse effects:

  • Dehydration (not enough water in your body).
  • Heart problems (such as irregular heartbeat and heart failure).
  • Nervousness (feeling nervous and jittery).
  • Sleeplessness (unable to sleep).

How Many Cans of Hi-Ball Should You Drink in a Day?

It is wise to limit your caffeine intake to only one can a day. I think energy drinks should be taken occasionally when really needed.

You should not entirely depend on energy drinks to boost your energy levels. Hi-ball contains 160 mg of caffeine along with ginseng and guarana which also have some caffeine in them.

So, the total caffeine can spike up to 210 mg. Taking more than one serving of Hi-Ball can result in caffeine overdose or intoxication.

Flavors of Hi-Ball Energy Drink?

Hi-ball offers a range of 7 fruity flavors, as mentioned below:

  • Grapefruit
  • Watermelon Mint
  • Wild Berry
  • BlackBerry
  • Lemon Lime
  • Peach
  • Vanilla

Is Hi-Ball Energy Drink Safe for Ketogenic Diets?

Absolutely yes, Hi-Ball is safe for a ketogenic diet since there are no carbs in the drink.

Although it is not a certified vegan drink. According to their website, it can be taken by users following a keto diet.

Is Hi-Ball Energy Drink Gluten-Free As Well?

All the ingredients in Hi-Ball are gluten-free. So, it is a gluten-free energy drink.

Hi-ball’s website also reassures people who cannot consume gluten that their beverages are gluten-free.

Other Energy Drinks That Are Vegan-Friendly

Here are some vegan-friendly alternatives to the Hi-Ball energy drink:

Aspire

ASPIRE is a Healthy Energy Drink, and it has everything you need to power your healthy lifestyle. ASPIRE contains no calories or sugar and is prepared from a special combination of multivitamins and good-for-you ingredients such as quality green tea.

It is designed to provide prolonged energy and focus. Except for sucralose, all the components in ASPIRE are obtained from natural, plant-based sources.

It increases the body’s metabolism, allowing it to burn more calories. ASPIRE has no effect on heart rate or blood pressure.

Red Bull

Red Bull is an energy drink brand owned by the Austrian firm Red Bull GmbH. Red Bull uses caffeine, sugar, and taurine to increase your physical and mental vigor. What exactly is this?

In addition to caffeine and taurine, Red Bull contains B vitamins, which provide a short-term energy boost by assisting the body in converting carbs from meals into glucose.

Red Bull gives 110 calories and 27 grams of sugar which is a lot as compared to Hiball with no calories and no sugar.

Celsius

Celsius is a healthier alternative to numerous energy drinks on the market, It tastes wonderful and has useful nutrients such as vitamins B and C, ginger root, and others.

There is no sugar, aspartame, high fructose corn syrup, or artificial preservatives, colors, or tastes in it. Celsius is gluten-free, kosher, and non-GMO, making it the best alternative on the list to try.

Final Verdict

There is no credible source or certification to declare Hi-Ball vegan friendly yet. It includes all plant-based vegan ingredients.

However, the creators of this energy drink also manufacture non-vegan items such as milk protein smoothies and milk coffee. This may be of concern if you are a devout vegan.

Vegans may consume all caffeinated components in a Hiball energy drink. but it is better to go for the alternatives just to be on the safe side.

Other than that, Hi-Ball energy drinks provide a unique taste and feel for carbonation enthusiasts around. The texture is more akin to seltzer than the normal texture of most energy drinks.

So, if you are not vegan and looking for zero calories and sugar-free energy drinks then you can definitely add Hi-Ball to your list.

Other Notable Mentions

Related Articles