,

Is Monster Energy Vegan? (Full Analysis)

Monster Energy is one of the popular energy drinks out there which aims to give its consumers a “big bad buzz” with its right combination of ingredients.

With Monster’s emergence in the market, a consumer’s lifestyle is something the business would always care about. Diets like veganism, keto, and gluten-free have become prominent over the years.

But do energy drinks like Monster catch up on these lifestyles?

Monster Energy Drink
Monster’s good for a boost, but is it actually vegan?

Short Answer: while the ingredients of Monster Energy are suitable for a vegan diet, some ingredients present, mainly the sugar and artificial sweeteners used, may give more ethically-minded vegans some pause.

If you want an elaborate explanation on why Monster Energy is not vegan certified, read further to find out.

Why Do People Go For A Vegan Diet?

To determine if Monster Energy is vegan, we must first identify a vegan diet and make a product vegan.

The principle of veganism is abstaining from animal products and excludes the exploitation and cruelty of animals. Sometimes, veganism is also acquired to live a healthier lifestyle.

Most people say that it’s not just about the diet, but the ethics and values alongside being a vegan.

Many believe that animals are sentient beings and have the right to life and freedom; that’s why being a vegan means avoiding and standing against the exploitation and cruelty that animals are experiencing.

Vegan dishes
Going green might be a pretty good option.

Furthermore, besides being a protest against animal cruelty, veganism is all about incorporating a more nourished lifestyle and may avoid any existing health diseases.

Here are some benefits of practicing a vegan diet:

  • Vegan diet contribute to a higher intake of beneficial nutrients
  • Helps you shed excess weight
  • Lower blood sugar levels
  • Reduces any risks of cancer
  • Lowers the risks of heart disease
  • Reduces pain from arthritis

Pros and Cons of Veganism

Going vegan is a great practice that more people are adapting over. But just like any diet, there will always be some pros and cons to it, here’s a quick list below:

Pros:

  • Helps in weight reduction
  • Positive health effects
  • Lowers blood pressure
  • Reduced risk of serious illnesses
  • Environmentally sustainable

Cons:

  • Limited food choices
  • Nutrient deficiencies
  • Consistently keeping an eye on your iron levels
  • Getting protein can become a challenge
  • Isn’t practical or sustainable for everyone

If you are interested in learning more about veganism, here’s a video to learn more:

Monster Energy Nutrition Facts

Now, let’s take a look at Monster Energy’s nutrition facts to see what you’re getting out of each can:

Monster Energy Nutrition Facts

And here’e a summary of what you can find at the back of Monster Energy can:

Typical ValuesMonster Energy
(16 fl.oz)
Energy210 calories
Fat
(Of which Saturated)
0g
(0g)
Carbohydrates
(Of which Sugars)
54g
(54g)
Caffeine160mg
Protein0g
Sodium370mg
Vitamin B2
(Riboflavin)
3.6mg
Vitamin B3
(Niacin)
46mg
Vitamin B64.6mg
Vitamin B1213µg

Based on the table above, Monster Energy highlights its 160mg caffeine content, a decent amount for a can of energy drink, alongside the 210 calories per 16 fl.oz serving. Now, this is something you may want to consider if you’re conscious of gaining any weight or on a strict calorie deficit diet.

Monster Energy Ingredients

The ingredients of Monster Energy are:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Sugar
  • Glucose
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural Flavours
  • Taurine
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Color Added
  • Panax Ginseng Extract
  • L-Carnitine L-Tartrate
  • Caffeine
  • Sorbic Acid
  • Benzoic Acid
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
  • Sucralose
  • Salt
  • D-Glucuronolactone
  • Inositol
  • Guarana Extract
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6)
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Maltodextrin
  • Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B12)

Additional ingredients include:

  • 210 Calories
  • 160mg Caffeine 
  • 54g Sugars
  • 370mg Sodium
  • Vitamin B2
  • Vitamin B3
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12

The main highlight of Monster Energy is its caffeine and sugar content, which is 160mg of caffeine and 54g os sugar per 16 fl.oz serving.

Are the Ingredients in Monster Energy Drink Vegan?

To determine whether the ingredients in Monster Energy are vegan, we need to debunk whether or not their synthetically made, plant-based, or possibly derived from animal by-products.

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs It Vegan?
Citric acidFlavoring and preserving agentCitrus fruits, SyntheticYes
‘Natural Flavors’Enhance flavorSynthetic, plant or animal sourcesNo
SucraloseArtificial SweetenerSyntheticYes
CaffeineStimulant Beans and LeavesYes
NiacinamideVitamin B3SyntheticTypically Vegan
RiboflavinVitamin B2Plant-BasedTypically Vegan
Sodium CitrateFlavoring and preservativeSyntheticYes
Pyridoxine HydrochlorideVitamin B6SyntheticTypically Vegan
CyanocobalaminVitamin B12SyntheticYes
MaltodextrinThickenerPlant-basedYes
Panax Ginseng ExtractHerbPlant-basedYes

The list above is derived from PETA‘s animal derivative ingredients list, which is a generally good source if you’re trying to make sure what ingredients may or may not be vegan.

Caffeine Content in Monster Energy

Monster Energy’s caffeine content (160mg per 16 fl.oz) is fairly a decent amount considering that the daily limit intake approved by FDA is at 400mg.

It is safe to say that the caffeine used in Monster Energy are purely plant based because caffeine is naturally vegan. Caffeine is usually sourced from beans and some leaves.

Caffeine is popular among energy drinks and other energy-boosting products because of its energizing properties. Some benefits caffeine brings include:

  • Boosts physical performance
  • Help you lose weight
  • Helps you focus and stay alert
  • May lower risk of type 2 diabetes

Here’s a video about caffeine and what it does to your body:

Audioversity on YouTube

Is The Sugar Used In Monster Energy Vegan?

Before we assume that the sugar used in Monster Energy is vegan, we must first understand why some sugars are either vegan or not.

Brown and white sugar granules
Is sugar a vegan ingredient?

Considering that sugar is mostly derived from either sugar beets or sugar canes (which are definitely plants), it’s not surprising that sugar is thought of as a vegan ingredient.

But it’s not about the sourcing but rather how they are processed. When processing the extract of sugar from plants to make them refined, some manufacturers often use a natural carbon called bone char.

Bone char is used to decolorize and filter sugar, which allows it to achieve its iconic white, granulated look. Brown sugar as well is created by adding molasses to the refined sugar, so most likely, companies who use bone chars on white sugar will use it on brown sugar as well.

However, there are still completely vegan sugar products, only when they are labeled organic or certified by the U.S Department of Agriculture.

In Monster Energy, it is not safe to assume that the sugar used is vegan because it’s not classified in the can.

Are the Artificial Sweeteners in Monster Energy Vegan?

Besides the 54g of sugar, Monster Energy also uses an artificial sweetener called sucralose.

Now, sucralose is widely used because it can be a healthier sugar substitute. Still, there is no guarantee that sucralose is ethically vegan since there are claims that sucralose was tested on animals.

So while sucralose in of itself is considered vegan, it’s testing on animals may ruffle to more ethically conscious vegan out there.

Nonetheless, if you’re against animal exploitation, it is still up to you whether you decide to not consume Monster. But if you’re only about the diet, the artificial sweetener added in Monster is safe for consumption.

Is Maltodextrin Vegan?

Maltodextrin is an additive to sweets, chocolate bars, energy tablets/powders/drinks, and even baby formula.

Maltodextrin is produced in the process of enzymatic hydrolysis of corn, wheat or another plant, thus making it a vegan-friendly ingredient.

While possibly used as a sweetener, Maltodextrin’s main purpose is to thicken a product’s composition. That’s why it is labeled or modified with starch or cornflour, or any of the sort.

Given that, the Maltodextrin in Monster Energy can be considered a vegan ingredient.

Is Monster Energy Vegan?

According to a blog that dissected if Monster is vegan or not, Monster’s ingredients use no bi-products of animals; however, they are not vegan certified.

They also contacted Monster and asked if Monster is vegan. Here’s the response they got:

Thank you for visiting the Monster Energy Website.

We use no animal by-products in any of our products line. However, they are not vegan certified.

Thank you,

Monster Energy

VegFAQs

based on this, Monster is alright to incorporate or include in the vegan diet, but the product is not certified vegan because they may have been tested on animals.

For more information on whether or not a certain energy drink brand is vegan, have a look at the following articles I’ve written about below:

Conclusion

To summarize our topic, Monster Energy is safe for a vegan diet. Still, it may not meet the ethical values veganism encompasses, because some of its ingredients may have been processed or tested on animals.

But of course, it all depends on you which foods you’re going to include in your vegan practices, or you can always do your own research or ask experts on the field to help you with your lifestyle.

There are also plenty of other caffeinated, vegan drinks and energy drinks out there as well, so just because Monster may be questionably vegan, doesn’t mean you have to forgo your daily caffeine fix entirely.

Just be sure not too have too many caffeinated beverages in your diet; just because something is vegan, doesn’t exactly mean it’s healthy.

Related Articles

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

Are G Fuel Cans Vegan? (Unveiled)

Is Reign Energy Drink Vegan? (And More)

Next