Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy drink prioritizes not just giving its consumers an energy boost, but hydrating them as well. The caffeinated beverage contains 100mg of caffeine from natural sources, 5g of amino acids, and 0 grams of sugar.
Recently, Optimum Nutrition has gained quite a cult following of gym fanatics who are looking to increase their protein consumption in any way possible. In all honesty, it does contain 5g of protein, which is a lot for an energy drink, so I understand why they practically worship this drink.
This drink may contain an impressive amount of protein, but some vegans worry about whether or not the protein comes from animal-based sources or from plants, so without further ado, let’s get to it:
The source of amino blend in Optimum Nutrition Amino Energy drink is not specified, making it difficult to determine whether it is vegan. However, there is no indication that the can contains any fish or meat on the can label. In other words, if animal byproducts do not bother you, you can include this energy drink in your vegetarian diet.
In this article, I’ll be exploring the ingredients of Optimum Nutrition Amino Energy drink to see if it really is fit for any true-blue vegan!
Nutritional Facts Of Optimum Nutrition Energy Drink
I would like to begin by giving you an overview of the nutrition of Optimum Nutrition Energy drink:
|Nutrient||Amount Per Serving||DV% (Daily Value)|
Ingredients Of Optimum Nutrition Energy Drink
Here’s the ingredients list of Amino Energy drink:
- Magnesium phosphate
- Carbonated water
- Amino acids
- Potassium chloride
- Sucralose (artificial sweetener)
- Natural flavors
- Potassium sorbate (preservative)
- Tartaric acid (in strawberry and grape flavors)
- Artificial flavors
- Citric acid
- Malic acid
- Potassium benzoate (preservative)
- Acesulfame potassium (sweetener, used in grape flavor)
- Sodium citrate
Is Optimum Nutrition Energy Drink Vegan-Friendly?
Sadly, Optimum Nutrition is not all the way vegan-friendly.
The label of a can does not mention the source though, which might make some suspicious.
Animal-based ingredients can be found in particular sports nutrition drinks. Optimum Nutrition Energy Drink, for example, can contain some animal-based ingredients being one of those. This is, however, just a possibility.
But if you do want to stay on the safe side, I’d recommend avoiding Optimum Nutrition for now.
But on a positive note, Optimum Nutrition Energy drinks can be considered for a vegetarian diet. The rest of the ingredients are either plant-based or synthetic, as shown in the ingredients list above.
What Is the Amino Blend In Optimum Nutrition Energy Drink?
Around 5 grams of essential amino acids are contained in the Optimum Nutrition Amino Energy drinks. As the name implies, the ingredient is crucial to the beverage.
An amino acid blend in Optimum Nutrition Energy drink contains eight amino acids. These include:
- L-Lysine Hydrochloride
- Sustamine L-Alanyl
- Micronized Taurine
Amino acids perform a wide range of essential functions in our bodies, including:
- Development and growth
- A source of energy
- Repairing and healing
- Digestive health
- Building muscle and improving recovery time
What Are The BCAAs In Optimum Nutrition Energy Drink?
BCAA supplements are popular among fitness enthusiasts and athletes because of their benefits.
L-leucine, L-isoleucine, and L-valine are the three branched-chain amino acids. However, only L-leucine is included in the amino blend in the Optimum Nutrition Energy drink.
L-leucine, in particular, helps with muscle building, recovery, and prevention of muscle loss. This is why BCAAs are such popular minerals for those who want to bulk up or athletes who regularly do heavy workout routines.
Sugar Content In A Can Of Optimum Nutrition Energy Drink
Optimum Nutrition Amino Energy Drink is sugar-free. Instead of sugar, two artificial sweeteners are used in this energy drink.
One of these sweeteners is Sucralose, which is vegan and calorie-free. It’s also 600 times sweeter than regular sugar, which means just a little goes a long way.
A plus point is that it also does not affect your blood sugar or insulin level. Therefore, I would recommend this drink for people with diabetes or associated diseases.
In addition to Sucralose, Amino Energy drinks also contain Acesulfame-K, another vegan sweetener. However, Acesulfame-k is known for its bitter aftertaste, which is why it’s usually blended with Sucralose, which can mask it!
While artificial sweeteners do have benefits, it’s still dangerous to excessively consume them. Always moderate your intake and listen to what your body tells you!
Caffeine Content of Amino Energy?
There is 100mg of caffeine in every 12 fl oz cans of Optimum Nutrition Amino Energy.
This is roughly the caffeine content of a typical cup of coffee, which contains about 95mg. I’d say that this is pretty moderate and doesn’t really pose many negative side effects for consumers.
I myself prefer energy drinks that range between 50-100 mg of caffeine since they deliver a good energy boost without getting me too wired up and antsy.
Furthermore, the FDA also recommends limiting caffeine consumption to a maximum of 400mg per day only.
You will get 100mg of caffeine from your Amino Energy drink, which is a quarter of your recommended daily allowance. As you may be getting caffeine from other foods as well, it’s best to stick with one or two cans only.
Going beyond the recommended daily limit can cause the following side effects:
Can Optimum Nutrition Amino Energy Drink Help You Lose Weight?
Optimum Nutrition can help you lose weight in the sense that it provides a good energy boost for your workouts!
Caffeinated drinks, in general, do not make people lose weight all by themselves, so don’t be reliant on Optimum Nutrition.
The most ideal way to maximize Optimum Nutrition is to drink it before hitting the gym since the caffeine jumpstarts your metabolism.
All in all, a proper diet and a good exercise routine is still the best option to lose weight! Energy drinks like Optimum Nutrition are just there to help you along the way.
Is Optimum Nutrition Amino Energy Drink Bad For You?
Energy drinks, like Optimum Nutrition Amino Energy, shouldn’t harm you if consumed in moderation. You may be able to handle this amount of caffeine if you drink one or two cups of coffee per day.
It is a good energy drink for people who lead an active and healthy lifestyle. The drink helps you stay focused and perform better. It is also expected to improve your muscle recovery, your focus, and your physical endurance, in addition to providing you with an energy boost.
However, if you are caffeine sensitive or can’t handle that much caffeine while your caffeine tolerance level is around 50 mg, you should avoid Optimum Nutrition Amino Energy drink.
Flavors Of Optimum Amino Energy Drink
Amino Energy drinks come in the following flavors:
- Blueberry Lemonade
- Green Apple
- Juicy Cherry
- Juicy Strawberry
- Mango Pineapple Lime
- Mixed Berry Sangria
- Peach Bellini
Alternatives to Optimum Nutrition
Other Notable Mentions
The Final Say
If you’re wondering whether Optimum Nutrition is 100% vegan-friendly, sadly, the origin of its amino acid blend is still a mystery.
The source of the amino blend in the drink isn’t indicated, so this doesn’t seem to be a vegan product. You should avoid Amino Energy drinks if you strictly follow a vegan diet.
Despite this, the rest of the ingredients used in this beverage seem to be synthetic or derived from plants. Therefore, Amino Energy does not qualify as a vegan product, though it’s quite close and might be the next best thing.
If you’re looking for an energy drink with naturally-derived ingredients, minimal caffeine, and no sugar, then Optimum Nutrition is a good bet and definitely worth a try! But do still moderate your consumption and be wary of side effects.