,

Is Raze Energy Drink Vegan? (Full Facts)

Veganism is a lifestyle that excludes any use of animal products and any form of exploitation and cruelty among animals.

And throughout the years, many businesses and manufacturers have also hopped in with supporting veganism by making their products vegan or cruelty-free.

But do energy drinks like Raze be up to par?

Energy drinks like Raze have become pretty popular in the market, but have you considered if the ingredients in them are ethical and cruelty-free?

The answer is that Raze seems to meet all the requirements to be considered a vegan drink ingredients-wise, although the ethics of the ingredients used might be debatable.

If you want some further elaboration on how vegan or not Raze energy drink is, read on further down below to find out more.

Raze Energy Ingredients

To determine if Raze is vegan, we must first identify its ingredients and figure out if these were ethically produced or cruelty-free and vegan.

But first, let’s define what makes something vegan or cruelty-free. Please take note that the two have different definitions, even though are often interchangeably used.

Cruelty-free is produced without harming or involving animals, while vegan is something that doesn’t contain any animal products like honey, wool, or beeswax.

Now these points are out of the way, let’s list down Raze’s ingredients.

  • Carbonated Water
  • Citric Acid
  • reFresh Performance Complex, which are;
    • Betaine Anhydrous
    • Caffeine Anhydrous
    • Taurine
    • Potassium Citrate
    • L-Tyrosine
    • Choline Bitartrate
    • BCAA Aminos (L-Leucine, L-Isoleucine, L-Valine)
    • Carnitine L- Tartrate
    • Alpha GPC
    • Caffeine Citrate.
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Acesulfame Potassium

Taurine

Taurine is an amino acid that occurs naturally in humans and animals. And many believed that Taurine came from ox’s bile, but now, it is synthetically created in laboratories without the use of animals. And these processes are cheap; that’s why most energy drink manufacturers use synthesized taurine.

Carnitine L- Tartrate

Carnitine L- Tartrate Is a dietary supplement responsible for transporting fatty acids into cells to create energy. Since Carnitine L- Tartrate is obtained from the body and a small amount of it comes from meats and fishes, vegans usually lack this amino acid, which is why it’s often taken as a supplement.

Potassium Sorbate

Potassium Sorbate is made by neutralizing sorbic acid with potassium hydroxide and is also synthetically created like Taurine. This ingredient is considered vegan and also acts as an effective preservative.

Artificial Sweeteners in Raze Energy

Raze doesn’t have any added sugar in its ingredients but instead uses artificial sweeteners like Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium. These artificial sweeteners give Raze a sweet taste while providing no extra calories.

Sucralose

Often recommended for diabetic people, sucralose is an artificial sweetener 600 times sweeter than sugar but provides no calories.

However, vegans don’t really consider sucralose ethical even though it is completely plant-based; this is because sucralose has been repeatedly tested on animals, which is a big no for the more ethically-minded vegans out there.

Acesulfame Potassium

Acesulfame Potassium is often mixed with sucralose to milden its bitter taste. There are also some controversies about it not being ethical as it was reportedly being tested on animals.

These artificial sweeteners are vegan to consume, as they don’t contain any properties derived from animals. But in some cases, some don’t consider so because of ethical reasons.

Raze Energy Caffeine Content

Raze has 300mg caffeine in each 16 fl. oz serving.

Caffeine is completely vegan because it is produced and is naturally found in some plants. Caffeine can be found in beverages like coffee and tea, other foods like chocolate and energy bars, and non-prescription medications.

Caffeine can also be found in chocolate bars as they are made out from the cacao plant which naturally has caffeine.

How Much Caffeine Does Raze Have?

Raze contains 300mg of caffeine in each can (16 fl.oz) and is fairly strong for an energy drink. The limited intake of caffeine for healthy adults is 400mg according to FDA.

Caffeine acts as a stimulant and binds the adenosine receptors in your brain, preventing you from feeling tired and sleepy.

Besides making you feel more alert, caffeine has various benefits:

Though caffeine may have these benefits, excessive consumption is something you should mind. Symptoms after the withdrawal of caffeine from your system include:

  • Fatigue
  • Crankiness
  • Persistent headache
  • Sweating
  • Muscle pain
  • Anxiety.

Is Raze Energy Drink Vegan?

Although it claims that Raze is vegan according to its Amazon page, it wasn’t really confirmed on its official website.

But take a look at the breakdown of Raze’s more prominenet ingredients below:

IngredientsPurposeCommercial SourceIs It Vegan?
SucraloseArtificial sweetenerSyntheticYes
BCAA AminosProduce proteinKeratin harvested from the chemical processing of animal hairNo
L-Tyrosine Choline BitartrateOptimal brain development Plant-based and animal-based, mostly found in protein-rich foods.Yes and No
Potassium CitrateMakes urine less acidicFruits, SyntheticYes
CaffeineIncrease alertnessBeans, Some leavesYes
Betaine AnhydrousHelps in the metabolism of a chemical called homocysteine Beets, seafood, wineNo

Based on these findings, some of Raze’s ingredients are vegan except that some of the ingredients may be source from animal products.

Since Raze isn’t officially Vegan-certified, you might want to take the vegan label it gives itself with a grain of salt; that being said here are the more controversial ingredients below, so you can see for yourself if it’s vegan enough for you:

Is The BCAA Content of Raze Energy Vegan?

BCAA Aminos is a set of amino acids that are essential for protein production. There are BCAA that is made for vegans while there are also not.

While the production of BCAA is from the extraction of keratin-rich materials like pigskin and duck feathers, Raze’s BCAA content is most probably plant-based since its manufacturer claims it’s vegan.

But there’s really much difference between vegan BCAA and regular BCAA besides when you get a taste of unflavoured BCAA. Nonetheless, it’s a great opportunity for the BCAA market to produce traditional and plant-based BCAA to offer for different markets.

Is Betaine Anhydrous in Raze Energy Vegan?

Betaine Anhydrous is a natural occurrence in our body where it balances our urine levels’ chemical called homocysteine. Betaine Anhydrous can also be found in beets, seafood, spinach, and wine.

Although they are found in beets, seafood, and wine, Betaine Anhydrous is also synthetically made. So there’s a high possibility that the Betaine Anhydrous content in Raze is synthetic, making it alright for vegans to consume.

Is Raze Energy Keto-Friendly?

Raze Energy is a suitable drink for the keto diet. It contains no calories, no sugar, and hardly makes any difference in your weight.

The ketogenic diet is a low-carb, high-fat diet that aims to help you lose weight and improve your overall health.

This diet is usually recommended for people with diabetes because it also targets lowering sugar levels and limits sugar intake.

That being said, Raze is pretty optimal to consume when you are doing the keto-diet, since it’s absent of sugar or calories, making it a perfect fit for the low-carb keto requirement.

For more information about Keto-Diet, here’s a video that explains what’s it about:

Is Raze Energy Gluten-Free?

Raze doesn’t include any ingredients that have wheat, rye, or barley, therefore making it gluten-free.

Typically, gluten-free diets are for people who have or avoid the symptoms of celiac disease. A disease in which gluten damages the lining of the small intestine.

So if you happen to be on a gluten-free diet, Raze wouldn’t have any negative effects or oppose your practiced diet as it doesn’t contain any ingredients derived from gluten.

Conclusion

Raze Energy is vegan-friendly from an ingredients perspective, but may raise some concern due to the possibility of some of its ingredients have gone through animal testing, which may pose a problem if you’re an ethically concerned vegan.

The majority of Raze’s ingredients are either plant-based or synthesized but do not guarantee that they are cruelty-free and ethical. But they’re vegan-friendly.

If you are still unsure about getting yourself Raze, it’s appropriate to do thorough research or try alternative and vegan certified energy drinks, such as CELSIUS.

Moreover, Raze has a huge amount of caffeine so you should look out for this as well as it may lead to some side effects such as:

  • Restlessness and shakiness
  • Anxiety
  • Rapid heart rhythm
  • Dizziness
  • Headaches

Those who are strict in diet are also advised to check in with their doctor about adding anything in your diet for more appropriate and accurate information about your health and lifestyle.

Related Articles:

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

Is C4 Energy Drink Bad For You? (Revealed)

Is Adrenaline Shoc Bad For You? (Truth)

Next