,

Is Raze Energy Gluten-Free? (Truth)

Dieting is insanely difficult, but just as rewarding. 

To make it work, you’ll need to plan every little thing. It could possibly hours to make sure all products you buy complies with the gluten-free diet.

No worries though; living healthier is worth it. Health is wealth after all.

Raze is a popular brand of pre-workout and energy drink. It’s one of the up-and-coming brands in the energy drink industry and has been doing well so far.

Raze Can
Raze Energy Zero Sugar variant

It could be perfect for you if you’re into heavy exercise or just want that sweet second wind. But how well does it fit into your gluten-free diet?

Raze is gluten-free and doesn’t contain any source of gluten in its ingredients. Plus, there’s no mention of a possibility of cross-contamination. 

To know more about Raze Energy, scroll through the article and find out about its ingredients and how it can benefit your gluten-free diet.

What Does Gluten-Free Mean?

A gluten-free diet is any diet that excludes any and all forms of gluten. 

Gluten is a family of proteins commonly found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye. It has two main proteins: glutenin and gliadin. Gliadin is the one responsible for the side effects some people experience after eating gluten. 

For one thing, wheat is a very common ingredient. It’s present even in foods we don’t normally think to look for it in (e.g pasta). Malt products are also common in beverages and candies, so it’s not hard to accidentally consume gluten if you’re careless.

Cross-contamination of Ingredients

Cross-contamination is when a product that’s normally gluten-free contracts trace amounts of gluten through shared handling spaces, tools, and storage spaces. 

This doesn’t sound like a big deal for most people but to someone with a condition like Celiac disease, it can be a serious problem. People with health conditions that need to be managed with a gluten-free diet are often at risk of severe side effects if ever they do end up with gluten in their system. 

Luckily, there are ways of avoiding cross-contamination. At home, you can prepare separate gluten-free and non-gluten-free food by putting them in different containers. You can always check the label too, just to be safe. 

Why Go Gluten-Free?

Bread
Gluten-free or bust?

As mentioned, many turn to gluten-free diets to manage health conditions. Besides that, some people consider the gluten-free diet a healthier way of eating that will help them lose weight. However, whether or not this is true is debatable

Conditions that need to be managed with a gluten-free diet include Celiac disease, Wheat allergy, and Non-Celiac gluten sensitivity. 

Furthermore, celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder wherein the body mistakes the gluten being consumed for a foreign body. This results in the immune system attacking the small intestine and damaging it. 

This gut damage inflicts further damage on the body by making it harder to absorb nutrients. It can also cause anemia, digestive issues, and a weaker immune system. 

Meanwhile, non-Celiac gluten sensitivity refers to any condition wherein a patient who doesn’t test positive for celiac disease gets bad reactions from gluten anyway. It has many symptoms in common with Celiac disease, which is why it’s sometimes mistaken for it. 

The symptoms Non-Celiac gluten sensitivity and Celiac disease have in common are: 

  • Diarrhea
  • Stomach pain
  • Fatigue
  • Bloating 
  • Low mood

Wheat allergy, on the other hand, is the same as any other food allergy. It’s the result of the body mistaking the gluten you consumed for a virus or harmful bacteria and releasing antibodies to defend itself. 

But unlike other food allergies, some people with wheat allergies may experience a more severe reaction called Anaphylaxis. 

Other Side Effects of Food or Drink with Gluten:

Anaphylaxis goes further than the normal allergic reaction in that it threatens the person’s life. It’s characterized by a swollen throat, turning pale, chest pain, and other more severe versions of allergy symptoms. 

If you believe you might have Celiac disease, get in touch with your doctor. It’s best to get tests done and properly diagnosed before going for a gluten-free diet. The tests normally done to diagnose Celiac disease are blood tests and biopsies from the small intestine. 

As for non-Celiac gluten sensitivity, you can see if you have it by removing gluten from your diet for a while then reintroducing it to see if there’s a difference. 

Raze Energy Ingredients

Here are the ingredients you can find in Raze:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Citric Acid
  • Betaine Anhydrous
  • Caffeine Anhydrous
  • Taurine
  • Potassium Citrate
  • L-Tyrosine
  • Choline Bitartrate
  • BCAA Aminos (L-Leucine, L-Isoleucine, L-Valine)
  • Carnitine L- Tartrate
  • Alpha GPC
  • Caffeine Citrate
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Acesulfame Potassium
Raze Energy Drink Ingredients
Raze Energy Drink Ingredients

While you can find a more definite breakdown of Raze’s ingredients in my Caffeine and Ingredients article here, let’s take a look at some of the essential ingredients of Raze Energy and determine whether they are safe for consumption for a gluten-free diet.

Is Caffeine Gluten-Free?

Coffee beans
Coffee beans, the world’s primary source of caffeine.

Caffeine is gluten-free and can be safe to drink for those who want to start their gluten-free journey. 

Caffeine is derived from coffee beans. So unless it was cross-contaminated during Raze’s manufacturing process, it shouldn’t have any kind of gluten in it. 

Naturally, this extends to coffee as well. You shouldn’t have to give that up for a gluten-free diet either unless you’re prone to using coffee creamer (which has a good chance of having gluten). 

What about the Caffeine Anhydrous you see in the ingredients list? Caffeine Anhydrous refers to the highly concentrated caffeine powder that’s often used to stimulate weight loss or athletic performance. 

Its caffeine content is concentrated enough that one teaspoon of Caffeine Anhydrous is worth 28 cups of coffee. 

If you’ve read a lot about caffeine before, then you know that that’s nine days’ worth of caffeine. 

Is Taurine Gluten-Free?

Taurine is an amino acid that naturally occurs in the body. It helps build proteins, which the body uses to repair the damage, and is also gluten-free.

The roles associated with taurine in the body include:

  • Regulating calcium levels in cells
  • Creating bile salt
  • Maintaining electrolyte balance
  • Supporting the nervous system 

It can be found naturally in meat and fish, but is also available as a dietary supplement. This is because of its ability to stimulate metabolism and a few other additional benefits. 

The health benefits associated with taurine are:

  • Protecting the eyes
  • Keeping the heart healthy
  • Maintaining muscles
  • Protecting the brain’s ability to function

It’s also said to be useful in preventing and treating diabetes since it lowers glucose levels, improves insulin resistance, and lowers cholesterol levels. 

Are Natural Flavors Gluten-Free?

Natural flavors are gluten-free most of the time. 

Natural flavors refer to anything from plants to animals that are used to flavor food. Sometimes, this includes things like wheat, barley, and rye. 

However, wheat is a common allergen, which usually means it’s stated in the ingredients list. If not, it’s in a “contains…” statement next to the natural flavors part of the label. 

You can also look for anything with the prefix “malt-” in the ingredients list if you want to be extra sure that your product is gluten-free. 

Is Carnitine Gluten-Free?

Carnitine is an amino acid that naturally occurs in the body and is likewise considered gluten-free.

It’s important to metabolism since it brings fat into the mitochondria. This makes carnitine important to heart function, brain function, and muscle movement. It’s even been proven to have a positive impact on people with Celiac disease. 

Summary video on L-carnitine as an ingredient

A study from 2007 showed that L-carnitine is effective at treating the fatigue symptoms of Celiac disease. This was presumed to be because carnitine is good for muscle energy absorption. So improving the patients absorption of carnitine resulted in less fatigue. 

Are Artificial Sweeteners Gluten-Free?

Artificial sweeteners
Just as sweet, but at what costs?

Raze Energy’s artificial sweeteners namely, Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium (Ace-K) are gluten-free. 

Sucralose is made from sucrose (sugar) in a lab setting. The process that manufactures it involves replacing some hydrogen-oxygen groups with chlorine atoms.

As a result, sucralose has a chemical structure that keeps it from being absorbed by the gastrointestinal system during digestion. This attribute is a key part of why it’s considered safe.

Ace-K is also made in a lab by combining Acetoacetic acid with Potassium. Despite being an artificial sweetener, Ace-K is known for its bitter aftertaste.

Most people don’t realize it has that though; Ace-K is frequently mixed with other artificial sweeteners like sucralose in order to hide it. Like Sucralose, it’s not absorbed by the body during digestion.

Both kinds of artificial sweeteners are controversial for various reasons. The most common ones brought up in discussions about them are their history of animal testing and their possible links to health problems like diabetes and cancer.

The FDA considers them safe to use. You’ll be fine as long as you’re careful not to consume too much of these through your food and drink. 

Is Potassium Sorbate Gluten-Free?

Potassium Sorbate is a kind of preservative that’s common in food and wine and is gluten-free. You can also find it in drugs and cosmetics since it inhibits the growth of mold and other microorganisms. On its own, it can appear as a bead, powder, or grains.

It’s manufactured by mixing Potassium Hydroxide with Ascorbic acid. That means Potassium Sorbate neither has gluten-based ingredients nor has gluten involved in the manufacturing process. Likewise, Potassium Sorbate is considered to be generally safe by the FDA. 

Is Sodium Benzoate Gluten-Free?

Sodium Benzoate is is another preservative you can find in Raze. It’s commonly found in processed food and beverages. It’s a gluten-free ingredient, which is also found in Raze Energy.

Outside of those, you can also find it in medications There, it’s used as a preservative, lubricant for easy digestion, and treatment for ammonia. 

It’s found in many plants including cinnamon, tomatoes, apples, and berries. Some bacteria also produce it when forming dairy products like yogurt. 

Raze Energy Drink Alternatives

If you enjoy the taste of Raze and are looking for other gluten-free options, here are some brands that might pique your interest:

Final Thoughts

Raze Energy
So is Raze Gluten-Free?

Raze is a gluten-free energy drink. It’s safe to drink it even if you have Celiac disease, a non-Celiac gluten sensitivity, or a wheat allergy. 

None of the flavors mentioned above have any kind of gluten in them. They don’t have gluten naturally or have a manufacturing process that involves it. So the only way Raze could cause a gluten reaction would be if anything got cross-contaminated somewhere. 

Of course, that doesn’t mean drinking Raze is totally risk-free. Raze still has a lot of caffeine, which can be a problem depending on the situation. 

Minors, pregnant women, and people who’re sensitive to caffeine should absolutely stay away from Raze even if it is gluten-free. They’re more vulnerable to side effects than the average person is, so drinking something with 300mg of caffeine is definitely not advisable. 

As for any lingering concerns, I’d recommend furthering your research or ask around for any advice about the drink.

Other Articles:

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

Are G Fuel Cans Gluten-Free? (Facts)

Is 5-Hour Energy Gluten-Free? (Facts)

Next