, , ,

Is Relentless Gluten-Free? (Facts and More)

Finding a suitable energy drink when you’re on a gluten-free diet can be challenging, especially when most brands don’t bother to specify if their products are ideal for you or not.

Relentless has long been known for its array of fruity flavours and 160mg of caffeine per can.

If you’re wondering if Relentless is gluten-free, I have some good news for you: the answer is yes.

Read on to know more about Relentless’ ingredients and how you can fit the drink in your gluten-free lifestyle!

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found mostly in grains, including wheat, barley, and rye.

Food like bread, pasta, and cereal are some of the most commonly eaten products that contain gluten.

Gluten does not contain any essential nutrients.

Below is a video that provides detailed information on gluten.

What is Gluten?

What is a Gluten-Free Diet?

A gluten-free diet is a diet plan that excludes products containing gluten.

This is usually implemented by people who have celiac disease.

Eating gluten causes such individuals to face an immune reaction in which the body reacts against the small intestine.

There are cases of people diagnosed as normal for celiac disease but still suffer from an adverse reaction when consuming gluten, which is most likely an allergic reaction to wheat.

Others are neither allergic to wheat nor diagnosed with celiac disease, yet they have an adverse reaction to eating gluten; these cases are known as Non-Celiac Gluten Hypersensitivity.

Others choose to do gluten-free diets due to their claimed benefits of improved health, weight loss, and increased energy. However, take note that there is no solid evidence to back up these claims.

How to be Gluten Free?

Following a gluten-free diet requires careful planning and a deep look into the origins of each ingredient present in a product.

Most products that contain gluten have counterparts produced which taste and look the same but are gluten-free.

If you’re thinking of going gluten-free, you must avoid the following:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale – A hybrid of wheat and rye
  • Some oats

Pros and Cons of a Gluten-Free Diet

Let’s weigh in on the benefits and drawbacks of going gluten-free!

Pros Cons
Diet is a must to treat celiac
and gluten sensitivity
A gluten-free diet can be
low in fiber.
Safe to follow with proper
planning
Diet might cause nutrition
deficiencies.
May improve lactose
intolerance
Many packaged gluten-free
foods are unhealthy
May aid in maintaining
cholesterol levels
Food choices at restaurants
are limited

Ingredients in Relentless Energy Drink

Now, let’s take a look at Relentless’ ingredients!

Relentless Ingredients
Ingredients on a Relentless Can
Ingredient TypeIngredient
EnergizersCaffeine, Guarana Seed Extract
WaterCarbonated Water
PreservativesPotassium Sorbate, Sodium Citrate,
Sodium Benzoate
AcidCitric Acid
VitaminsTaurine, Niacinamide, Pantothenic Acid
Pyridoxine, Cobalamin
Artificial SweetenerSucralose
Flavour EnhancerErythritol
ColourCaramel E150d

Are Ingredients in Relentless Gluten Free?

Below is a detailed table on the various ingredients present in Relentless and whether they are gluten-free or not.

IngredientSourceGluten-Free?
Caffeine GuaranaYES
Guarana Seed ExtractGuaranaYES
SucraloseSugarYES
Potassium SorbateSynthetically MadeYES
Sodium CitrateCitric AcidYES
Sodium BenzoatePlantsYES
Citric AcidCitrus FruitsYES
TaurineDairy ProductsYES
NiacinamideVegetablesYES
Pantothenic AcidDairy ProductsYES
PyridoxineMeatsYES
CobalaminSynthetically MadeYES
ErythritolFruitsYES
Caramel E150dSugarYES

Is Caffeine Gluten-Free?

Caffeine is usually gluten-free unless it is altered through commercial processes that make it come in contact with wheat or other products containing gluten.

As far as Relentless is concerned, the caffeine present in it is gluten-free.

Is Taurine Gluten-Free?

Taurine is a type of amino acid that enhances many of our body functions.

It can be naturally produced within the human body or obtained through external sources such as meat, fish, and dairy products.

It does not have any connection to wheat and is gluten-free.

Does Relentless Contain Artificial Sweeteners?

Relentless contains a widely used artificial sweetener, Sucralose.

Most energy drinks that use artificial sweeteners are sugar-free; Relentless, however, relies on a combination of Sucralose and table sugar to get its signature taste.

Is Sucralose Gluten Free?

Sucralose is produced through various chemical changes carried out in sugar.

Since sugar has been labelled as gluten-free by multiple reputable sources, Sucralose is also safe for consumption for people with celiac disease or for those sensitive to Gluten.

Can Relentless Energy Help You Lose Weight?

Relentless contains a significant amount of calories. It is not a suitable drink to have if you’re looking to lose weight.

Relentless adds an unnecessary amount of calories that you’ll have to burn off in the gym.

There are other calorie-free brands that you can check out too!

Is Relentless a Pre-Workout Energy Drink?

Relentless is a great energy drink to add to your diet if you’re working out to build muscles.

The 160mg of caffeine present in it can give you a much-needed energy boost before a workout, allowing you to carry out much more strenuous exercises for a more extended amount of time.

Its calories will also aid you in meeting the 2800 calorie amount needed to build a pound of muscle.

On the other hand, if you are working out to lose weight, Relentless isn’t appropriate for you.

As I mentioned above, it will only add to the calories you’d have to burn off.

Other Gluten-Free Energy Drinks

If Relentless doesn’t appeal to you, here is a list of other gluten-free energy drinks you can try:

Final Verdict

After a close examination of Relentless’ ingredients, rest assured that the drink is entirely gluten-free!

Relentless can be a good option if you have celiac disease or are suffering from gluten sensitivity and are looking for an energy drink to add to your diet. But, before drinking Relentless or any other energy drink, make sure that you consult a physician first.

Aside from the gluten-free ingredients, Relentless offers a decent energy boost that will power you through the day. However, I am iffy about the drink’s calorie and sugar content, which can become detrimental to your health, especially when consumed excessively.

It’s always important to find the right energy drink for you, so if you want to know more about other healthy brands, check out my other posts!

Related Articles

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

Is Uptime Energy Drink Bad For You? (Complete Info)

Is Bing Energy Bad For You? (Answered)

Next