,

Is Rockstar Energy Drink Vegan? (Revealed)

Rockstar is one of the leading energy drinks in the present market. They were introduced in 2001 and within two decades became successful in tempting a lot of drink fanatics all over the world.

How did this brand manage to overcome the hurdles amid strong competitors? The answer lies in its formula and target market that caters to a variety of people – including those on a strict diet regimen.

YES, Rockstar is a vegan energy drink. All the ingredients that make this drink are originated from plant sources and none of them are obtained from animals.

To know more about Rockstar’s ingredients, keep on reading!

Ingredients of Rockstar Energy Drinks

The drink contains many other healthy ingredients including extracts. However, in my opinion, there are some unhealthy ingredients in it as well such as Red 40 and some other preservatives.

Here is a list of the ingredients of Rockstar Energy Drink:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Sugar
  • Glucose
  • Citric Acid
  • Taurine
  • Natural Flavors
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Caffeine
  • Benzoic Acid (Preservative)
  • Sorbic Acid (Preservative)
  • Inositol
  • L-Carnitine
  • Guarana Seed Extract
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Sucralose
  • Red 40
  • Panax Ginseng Root Extract
  • Niacinamide
  • Milk Thistle Extract
  • Pantothenic Acid
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Cyanocobalamin

Are The Ingredients of Rockstar Energy Vegan?

All the ingredients in Rockstar Energy Drink are obtained from plant sources and are vegan-friendly. Rockstar itself has claimed that taurine, which is one of its ingredients, is obtained from synthetic sources.

Here is a compiled list of all the ingredients of Rockstar Energy Drink below and their usual sources.

IngredientsSourceVegan
Citric AcidPlant or SyntheticYes
ErythritolSyntheticYes
TaurineSyntheticYes
Sodium CitratePlant-basedYes
CaffeinePlant-basedYes
SucraloseSyntheticYes
Acesulfame KSyntheticYes
GlucuronolactoneSynthetic- PlantYes
Caramel  E150cSyntheticYes
Riboflavin E101cSyntheticYes
Guarana ExtractPlantYes
Ginseng ExtractPlantYes
Vitamin B3 (Niacin)SyntheticYes
Vitamin B6SyntheticYes
Vitamin B12Fugal-Plant-SyntheticYes
Ingredients and their sources

Rockstar Energy Nutrition Facts

It’s a given that no energy drink is healthy especially if consumed in an unrestricted manner.

Still, it’s crucial to look at a brand’s nutrition facts, especially when you plan on making it your go-to drink.

Rockstar Energy Drink Nutrition Facts written on a can
Rockstar Energy Drink Nutrition Facts

Below is a table showing nutritional values in a single serving of Rockstar energy drink.

NutrientQuantity% Daily Value
Total Fat 1.1 g2 %
Saturated Fat 0 g0%
Trans Fat0 g0%
Polyunsaturated Fat 0 g3%
Monounsaturated Fat0 g20%
Cholesterol0 mg0%
Sodium77 mg0%
Total Carbohydrate61 g0%
Dietary Fiber0 g1%
Sugar 59 g
Protein1.6 g
Vitamin D0 mcg0%
Calcium5 mg0%
Iron0 mg 1%
Potassium29 mg1%
Caffeine158.4 mg
Nutrition facts and their quantities

For a more detailed overview of the components of Rockstar energy drinks, I have the right article for you.

Sugar Content in Rockstar Energy

A 16 fl. oz can of Rockstar contains 24 grams of sugar which in my opinion is quite a lot. According to the American Heart Association (AHA), the daily recommended sugar intake is:

Men36 grams
Women25 grams
Recommended Sugar Intake for both men and women

The sugar content in Rockstar is just at the verge of the limit of sugar intake for women. For men, it constitutes more than half of the recommended value.

Make sure to consume Rockstar energy drinks in moderation as their sugar content is quite high. Neglecting the daily recommended value and consuming too much sugar will lead to the following:

If there is persistent overconsumption of sugar, it might even give further complications like:

Sugar is certainly an easy source of energy, but not the healthiest option. I recommend that you only stick to drinking one can of Rockstar energy drink a day.

Is The Sugar Used in Rockstar Vegan?

Sugar generally comes from plant sources so it is certainly vegan.

You might still be concerned if the sugar used in Rockstar energy drink is vegan or not, so let me clear this up for you. Let me assure you that all the ingredients in Rockstar energy drinks are vegan including sugar as well!

Sugar is mainly obtained from sugarcane. Some other sources may include sugar beets.

Sugar does not contain animal products. However, the processing of refined sugars can involve bone char which is obtained from the bones of cows. This can make the sugar unsuitable for vegans.

Bone char is also known as natural carbon. Some sugar manufacturers use bone char as a decolorizing filter in the sugar refining process to achieve the desired white-colored sugar. 

It is very hard to track down where exactly is the sugar sourced from in every food product. PETA advised that you should not be stressing hard about the source of sugar if you are a vegan.

Check out my list of sugar-free energy drinks here.

Caffeine Content in Rockstar

There is 160 mg of caffeine per 16 fl oz can of Rockstar energy drink.

160 mg of caffeine in a single can of Rockstar energy drink is quite high. This must be suitable for those who have high caffeine tolerance levels.

The caffeine content is still less than a lot of other energy drinks. However, it is worth mentioning that 160 mg is still about twice the amount of caffeine in a regular cup of coffee.

The US FDA recommends that you have only up to 400mg of caffeine a day as a safe limit. For better visualization, here’s a brief table of the most common beverages and their caffeine level:

Brewed Coffee70–140 mg
Espresso125 mg
Instant coffee30–90 mg
Decaf Coffee0–7 mg
Caffeine Content of Common Coffee Beverages

If you ask me, I prefer beverages not exceeding 100mg of caffeine. This is because any more than this threshold makes me quite giddy. Still, this entirely depends on your tolerance.

 Consuming caffeine more than 400 mg a day can lead to some drastic side-effects such as:

All things considered, before drinking Rockstar make sure that you can stand such high caffeine and sugar levels rolled into one.

It should not be neglected that Rockstar energy drink comes with the warning label – teenagers, pregnant, and breastfeeding mothers should not consume Rockstar (or any energy drink for that matter!) due to the side effects of their high caffeine content.

Here is a video further explaining why energy drinks and pregnancy just don’t jive:

Is it Safe to Drink Energy Drinks During Pregnancy?

Is Rockstar Gluten-Free?

According to Rockstar’s official website, Rockstar Energy Drinks are gluten-free.

Gluten is a mixture of seed storage proteins found in wheat, barley, rye, and oats. Gluten has no essential nutrients. Consuming gluten might cause inflammation in the intestines of the people who are sensitive to it.

Label on Rockstar Energy Drink
Warning Label on Rockstar energy drink can

Since there is no wheat, barley, rye, or oats found in the ingredients list, the drink should be gluten-free.

Does Rockstar Energy Drink Affect my Health?

Rockstar energy drink is one of the top sellers in the market. It gives you a jolt of energy and helps you finish your tasks without that unwanted feeling of tiredness.

However, I would suggest you always have Rockstar in moderation. This is because too much energy drink consumption can only give you negative effects.

Rockstar energy drink contains 160 mg of caffeine and 24 g of sugar in each can which in my point of view is a little too high.

Having 2 cans of Rockstar energy drink in a day will put you well over your daily sugar limit and might cause you caffeine overdosing. This leads to:

Can I Drink Rockstar Energy Drink If I’m Vegan?

Ingredients in a Rockstar energy drink clearly show that they are vegan-friendly. You can certainly consume Rockstar Energy drinks if you are vegan.

However, it is worth mentioning that Rockstar energy drinks are not vegan-certified. That’s why if you’re an ethical vegan, you may want to steer clear away from this drink.

If you’re practicing veganism purely for its health benefits, then you can thoroughly enjoy each drop of Rockstar!

I highly suggest you drink only one energy drink in a day. Not taking care of the count can cause side effects of excessive sugar and caffeine consumption.

Alternative Vegan Energy Drinks

There are some other vegan energy drinks that you can consider drinking.

Other Notable Mentions

Conclusion

Conclusively, Rockstar Energy drink is a healthy and vegan-friendly option.

With each serving containing 160 mg of caffeine and 24 grams of sugar, I can assure you that Rockstar is a vegan drink packed with purely-vegan ingredients.

I suggest that you stick to drinking one can a day because exceeding the daily limit of caffeine and sugar can be hazardous for your health.

Related Articles

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

Best Energy Drink For Tennis (Top Picks)