,

Is Rogue Energy Vegan? (Truth Unveiled)

Regardless of your reason for going Vegan, I believe it’s nice that more people are mindful of what they consume. Vegan diets are good for the heart and may reduce the chances of diabetes and other chronic health conditions.

Now, let’s cut to the chase, is Rogue Energy Drink vegan-friendly, and is it suitable to consume for a vegan diet?

We’ll go through an in-depth discussion of Rogue’s ingredients and whether or not they’re suitable for your vegan lifestyle, so buckle up.

Rogue Energy Ingredients

Rogue Grape Popsicle Ingredients
Rogue Grape Popsicle Ingredients

Your standard serving of Rogue contains the following ingredients:

  • Vitamin C 
  • Vitamin E
  • Vitamin B3
  • Vitamin B12
  • Sodium
  • Acai Berry Extract
  • L-Carnitine
  • L-Citrulline
  • Taurine
  • Glucuronolactone
  • Caffeine
  • Glycine
  • N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine
  • L-Phenylalanine
  • L-Theanine
  • Choline L-Bitartrate
  • Mucuna Pruriens AKA Velvet Bean
  • Bacopa Monnieri
  • Sucralose
  • Ace-K

Other ingredients listed are the following,

  • Citric Acid
  • Silicon Dioxide
  • Maltodextrin
  • Colorings

What is Veganism?

Vegan
Most people opt for a vegan lifestyle for a healthy body

Before digging in, let’s give a quick overview to what veganism and the vegan diet actually is.

Vegan and vegetarian generally take similar nutrients, most of it actually. However, they do differ in some beliefs. Vegetarians are those who do not eat meat, poultry, fish, or any animal-derived foods.

Vegans, on the other hand, do not eat any forms of meat and all animal-derived foods and ingredients including honey, gelatin, among others. This falls down on their belief to avoid any forms of exploitation against animals.

Are The Ingredients of Rogue Energy Vegan?

Vegan diet reduces health problems
Going vegan reduces any possible health risks

Rogue Energy Drink is possibly vegan, depending on your overall stance on veganism.

I went through a vegan checker online and scanned through all the ingredients. Based on this checker, some of the ingredients MIGHT not be Vegan.

Here’s a quick table summarizing my findings, and feel free to run the ingredients through PETA‘s own animal-derivative ingredients list if you want to be really sure about it.

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs It Vegan?
Citric AcidNatural preservative, adds a sour taste to the drinkPlant-based/
Synthetic
Yes
CaffeineStimulantPlant-basedYes
SucraloseSweetenerSyntheticYes
Acesulfame PotassiumSweetenerSyntheticYes
Vitamin C
(ascorbic acid)
Growth and repair of body tissues.SyntheticYes
Acai Berry ExtractPlant extract, supposedly has anti-aging and weight loss propertiesPlant-basedYes
L-CarnitineAmino acid, turns fat into energyAnimal-based, synthethicNo
L-CitrullineNon-essential amino acid, boosts nitric acid production in the bodyPlant-based
(Watermelon)
Yes
TaurineAmino acid commonly found in energy drinksSynthethicYes
GlucuronolactoneUsed to increase energy levels and improve alertnessSynthethicYes
N-Acetyl-L-TyrosineAmino acidPlant/Animal-basedUnsure
L-PhenylalanineAmino acidPlant/Animal-basedUnsure
L-TheanineAmino acid, eases anxiety and reduces insomniaPlant/Fungal-basedYes
Choline L-BitartratePossibly improves athlethic performancePlant/Animal-basedUnsure
Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)Converts nutrients into energy and has antioxidant effectsSyntheticYes
Cyanobalamin (Vitamin B12)Development of brain and nerve cellsFugal/Plant-Based/
Synthetic
Yes

As you can see from the table above, there are some of the ingredients can be derived from animal sources.

Are The Food Colorings Used In Rogue Vegan?

Rogue uses certain food colorings in their products.

Food colorings that are used in Rogue Energy are Red 40, Blue 1, Green 3, and others. Although these food colorings are FDA-approved, the fact that these colorings are not animal-friendly makes Rogue Energy not entirely vegan.

These food colorings are tested in animals like mice, rats, cows, and dogs. These colorings are fed to the animals to see the maximum side effects for a specific period of time.

On the contrary, these food colorings are safe when used under FDA guidelines and regulations.

A study have shown that the use of food colorings as practiced in the United States does not result to any excessive side effects.

Most vegans are okay with these food colors but stricter ones are not really fond of any form of animal exploitation, so they won’t consume it.

How Many Calories Does Rogue Have?

Rogue Energy Drinks are completely calorie-free.

This is good news since health experts only recommend 2,000 – 2,500 calories daily. I always try to be mindful of my daily caloric intake.

Working out and watching what we eat is important not just for our physical appearance but our overall state of mind.

I found a vegan calorie counter online if you wanted to monitor your calories as a vegan.

Studies show that plant-based diets are effective in weight loss. In 2015, a research study showed that a vegan diet rich in vegetable fats can boosts metabolism.

Vegans burn more calories while at rest, which shows that their weight loss journey is quicker than those on a regular diet.

How Much Caffeine Does Rogue Have?

Rogue contains an average of 175mg to 300mg of caffeine per serving, which is a fair amount given that you’re supposed to mix it with 12 to 16 fl.oz of water.

Caffeine is a probably the most important component of an energy drink, and given that they are usually derived from plant-based or synthetic sources, which definitely makes it a vegan ingredient.

Among the benefits of caffeine includes:

  • Decreasing body fatigue
  • Improving short-term memory 
  • Improving alertness
  • Boosting body reaction time

Overconsumption of caffeine is linked to various health risks that could take a toll on your mental and physical health. 

Research shows that caffeine does not only disrupt our sleep patterns but may also cause an increase in our blood pressure and cause heart rhythm changes, so be sure to stay within the FDA-approved 400mg daily caffeine limit to avoid any complications.

Overconsumption of caffeine: sleep disruption
Excessive caffeine can disrupt sleeping pattern

How Much Sugar Does Rogue Have?

Rogue Energy contains 0 sugar which is good since most energy drinks often contain too much of it.

The American Health Association (AHA) recommends only consuming 24g for women and 36g of sugar for men.

Although we all love sugar and we crave something sweet every now and then, sugar is linked to health problems that you wouldn’t want to experience;

  • Weight gain
  • Heart disease
  • Acne
  • Diabetes
  • Cancer
  • Depression

Most people fall into the trap of thinking that sugar can boost our energy. However, research in 2019 confirms that this is false. The sugar rush is a myth. Sugary drinks are more likely to cause our bodies to feel more drained.

Does Rogue Have Artificial Sweeteners?

Yes. Rogue Energy Drinks contain Ace-K and Sucralose.

Ace-K or Acesulfame Potassium is a noncaloric alternative in replacement of table sugar. It regulates our blood sugar levels which is a good ingredient for those with diabetes. It’s found in most sodas and sugar-free drinks.

Although this ingredient is FDA approved, it is linked to some negative health problems like obesity and chronic disease. There is a research linking overconsumption of Ace-K to gut problems.

On the other hand, sucralose is marketed in those yellow Splenda packets. Sucralose is a noncaloric sweetener used as an alternative to regular sugar. It is consumed to regulate sugar levels.

The side effects associated with too much sucralose are diarrhea and nausea.

Is Sucralose Vegan?

While sucralose is a synthetic ingredient and isn’t derived from any animal products, it has been tested extensively on animals, which makes it a non-vegan product from an ethical perspective.

If you’re in vegan circles, its a commonly known fact that Sucralose (or it’s brand name Splenda), doesn’t have the best track record with animal rights, with extensive testing done to various animals including mice, monkeys and dogs.

As such, if you’re a vegan practitioner who strongly refuses to consumes products which has ties to animal cruelty, the sucralose content in Rogue might be objectionable, but if you have no such qualms, then it’s perfectly okay.

Can Red Bull be an Alternative to Rogue?

Red Bull Energy drink

Red bull is probably one of the famous energy drink but is it vegan? Does it have a go signal for vegans to consume?

There are five varieties of Red Bull, these are:

  • Red Bull Energy drink, which is the original one.
  • Red Bull Sugar Free
  • Red Bull Total Zero
  • Red Bull Editions
  • Organics by Red Bull

All of these have almost similar ingredients. Red Bull does not have any animal products in its ingredients but as mentioned, most energy drinks contain food colorings. These colorings are not animal-based because they were used to test animals.

It really falls down on the food colorings. Some vegans don’t consume them because the process that these food colorings were produced and formulated are animal-friendly.

So, if you’re a vegan but you’re okay with these food colorings then consider Red Bull vegan.

In addition, one variety of Red Bull that is completely vegan because it does not contain any artificial colorings is the Organics by Red Bull.

Vegan-Friendly Alternatives

Some energy drinks does not contain any animal-based products in its ingredients and some have been vegan-certified.

If you are someone who practices a vegan lifestyle and wants to enjoy a can of energy drink, here are the following recommended vegan-friendly alternatives:

Final Thoughts

To conclude, while Rogue could possibly be vegan, it’s a lot easier to search for an actual vegan energy drink instead of figuring out whether Rogue is compatible with a vegan diet.

Rogue has Zero-Sugar, is Gluten-Free, and Paleo-Friendly, but does not mention anywhere that the drink is vegan-friendly.

As such, it’s safe to assume that the drink might not be the best fit for a vegan diet, and considering that there are plenty of vegan-friendly energy drink options out there, it’s probably best to move on from this drink in particular.

But at the end of the day, it’s up to you to decide whether or not Rogue is suitable for your personal dietary choices, be it solely plant-based or vegan.

Other Articles

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

Side Effects of Energy Drinks (How Bad Are They?)

Best Energy Drinks For Staying Awake (Tips)

Next