,

Is Venom Energy Drink Gluten-Free? (Facts)

Among other energy drinks, Venom has sustained the alleviation of anyone’s tiredness and fatigue over the years. Energy drinks’ reputation in doing so has heightened and has become part of anyone’s diet in the fast-paced lifestyle of this age.

Various types of diets have also emerged in par of promoting a healthier and wholesome lifestyle. Do energy drinks like Venom have caught up to adapt to the ever-changing market preferences?

Read on to find out.

Here’s the short answer: Venom is absolutely safe to consume if you are under a gluten-free diet. Venom does not contain any ingredients derived from gluten sources like wheat, rye, or malt.

For a more in-depth information that concludes Venom as a gluten-free product or more, read further.

What does Gluten-Free Mean?

Gluten-free means the avoidance or restricting consuming foods that contain gluten. Gluten is a family of proteins mostly found in wheat, rye, barley, and spelt.

Being part of the protein family, gluten comprises two main protein components, namely, glutenin and gliadin. Out of these two proteins, gliadin is responsible for the side effects some people experience when eating gluten. 

Why do People Choose a Gluten-Free Diet?

People who have celiac disease choose a gluten-free diet to avoid its side effects.

Gluten proved to have adverse effects on people who are sensitive to it. It also worsens the sensitivity because it affects the small intestine, and side effects range from a simple stomachache to malnutrition.

Generally, if you’re not suffering from celiac disease or have gluten-related medical conditions, you don’t really need to phase out gluten from your diet.

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac Disease is a disease and small intestine sensitivity. When people with celiac disease consume gluten, the protein found in gluten attacks the villi (wall of the small intestine that absorbs the food nutrients).

To understand more about celiac disease, a video presentation by Zero to Finals is embedded below:

How to be Gluten-Free?

Switching to a diet can bring a lot of changes to your body. Whether you’re switching for a healthier lifestyle or just to try and see if it works for you, there will always be some things to consider to make sure that you’re going to do it right.

As for a gluten-free practice, you want to makes sure to check all your products’ gluten free status and doing a thorough research about the diet.

To avoid consuming foods that contain gluten, here’s a list of food sources to avoid:

  • Bread
  • Cookies
  • Cake
  • Beer
  • Ale
  • Candies
  • Cereals 
  • Gravy
  • French fries
  • Communion wafers
  • Pasta
  • Soy sauce (wheat)
  • Malt products (barley)

Additionally, when grocery shopping, make sure that it explicitly says on the packaging that the product is “gluten-free”.

Gluten-Free Diet Pros and Cons

Like any other diet practice, switching to gluten-free diets also has its pros and cons. Either way, it’s important to look into these and weigh out the pros and cons before making a decisive change.

Gluten-free diet pros and cons

ProsCons
Better absorption of nutrientsLimited food choices
Eliminates high-calorie carbsIt may hurt your nutrient intake.
Promotes weight lossAnemia
May improve lactose intoleranceLow on fiber
Focuses on whole foods

Venom Energy Drink Ingredients

Now you have a brief knowledge about the gluten-free diet, let’s head back over to Venom. In this section, we’ll look over Venom’s ingredients and figure out further if these are certified gluten-free.

Here’s a list showing the ingredients of Venom Energy Drink:

  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Glucose
  • Citric Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Taurine
  • Sodium Citrate (Preservative)
  • L-Carnitine
  • Inositol
  • Sodium Benzoate (Preservative)
  • Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
  • Natural Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Ginseng Extract
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6)
  • Guarana Extract
  • Caramel Color
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B12)

Are the Ingredients in Venom Gluten-Free?

Determining whether an ingredient is gluten-free or not, you need to know where it comes from or where it’s obtained. Here’s a table showing you the ingredients and whether or not they’re gluten-free:

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs It Gluten-Free?
High Fructose Corn SyrupSweetener derived from cornOrganicYes
GlucoseSweetener, thickener and moisturiser used in food productionCorn StarchYes
Citric AcidNatural acid, flavoring, and food preservativePlant-Based/SyntheticYes
MaltodextrinUsed to thicken the volume and preserve processed foodCorn StarchYes
TaurineAmino Acid,
Helps stimulate metabolism
SyntheticYes
Sodium CitrateFlavoring and preservativeSyntheticYes
L-CarnitineHelps improve metabolism and energySynthetic/OrganicYes
InositolHelps improve nervous system and produces hormones like serotonin and dopaminePlant-Based/ SyntheticYes
Sodium BenzoatePreservativeSyntheticYes
Potassium SorbatePreservativePlant-BasedYes
NiacinamideVitamin B3SyntheticYes
Natural FlavorsFlavoringAnimal/Plant-BasedYes
SucraloseArtificial SweetenerSyntheticYes
Ginseng ExtractHerb that helps improves memory and brain functions.Plant-BasedYes
Pyridoxine HydrochlorideVitamin B6SyntheticYes
Guarana ExtractContains antioxidants and stimulantsGuarana seedsYes
Caramel ColorFood flavoring and coloringNatural Sources (Sugar or Corn)Yes
RiboflavinVitamin B2Plant-BasedYes
CyanocobalaminVitamin B12SyntheticYes

Some of these ingredients contain starch. Many people are confused about contains gluten; the answer to that question is no because starches are from corn, waxy maize, and potatoes, which are certified gluten-free.

Is High-Fructose Corn Syrup Gluten-Free?

High Fructose Corn Syrup is certified gluten-free as it is processed without any derivations from any gluten-rich sources.

Many are confused if corns or starches are gluten-free. While gluten is mainly found in wheat, rye, or spelt, corn or starch is not included in the grain category.

A study conducted by P. Dostáleka and others conducted a research method to determine if high-fructose corn syrup is entirely gluten-free. They used ELISA (enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay) to detect quantifying peptides, proteins, antibodies, and hormones in foods.

The study concluded:

The gluten content in various glucose syrups was determined by two sandwich ELISA methods and one competitive ELISA. The analysis proved that glucose syrups analyzed in this work and used in many food products and gluten-free food products are safe for patients suffering from celiac disease. 

Determination of gluten in glucose syrups

Is Maltodextrin Gluten-Free?

If you’re practicing a gluten-free diet, you might be worried when you see the word Maltodextrine because it has the word ‘malt’ in it.

However, in Maltodextrin’s case, even when it is made from wheat, the processing of wheat starches for making Maltodextrine renders it gluten-free.

Moreover, even though it is made from wheat, most Maltodextrine produced in the USA is corn. Otherwise, Maltodextrin is safe for people with celiac disease as gluten is removed when it is being processed.

Is Caffeine Gluten-Free?

Caffeine is naturally gluten-free because it is found in beans, seeds, and some leaves.

As for energy drinks, the caffeine used in them is mostly synthetic; if not, they come from beans or seeds like guarana. Guarana is a seed harvested from the Amazon and has a high caffeine content than coffee beans.

What Does Caffeine do to your Body?

Caffeine functions as a stimulant that blocks your adenosine receptors that makes you feel tired and sleepy. By blocking these, caffeine triggers your cranial nerves, making you feel more awake and alert.

However, this effect can only last for a short time and has some mild effects when subdued. The caffeine effects peak at about 30-60 minutes upon consumption. After 5-6 hours, half of the caffeine will subside, and it’ll take a full 12 hours before it completely leaves your bloodstream.

What are some side effects of caffeine? Some include:

  • Dizziness
  • Diarrhea
  • Increased thirst
  • Insomnia
  • Headache
  • Irregular or Fast Heartbeat
  • Nausea
  • Fever
  • Irritability

Caffeine is not entirely bad to your health so long as you consume it moderately.

Here’s a video that explains further the effects of caffeine on our body:

Science Insider

Caffeine in Venom

Each can of Venom (16 fl.oz) contains 160mg of caffeine.

The caffeine in Venom certainly gluten-free because it’s synthesized. This amount, however, is pretty average because you can get the full-on vitalization on the ingredients such as the B-complex and other minerals.

In essence, the caffeine in Venom is good for the gluten-free diet, and its caffeine amount is safe overall.

Is Sucralose Gluten-Free?

Sucralose is an artificial sweetener used as a substitute for sugar.

While it is 600 times sweeter than sugar, sucralose does not impose harmful side effects, unlike sugar; that’s why it is widely used as a sugar alternative or adds sweetness to the product.

Sucralose is either synthesized or laboratory-made. However, some artificial sweeteners are not tested for cross-contamination, so they might not be friendly for celiac disease.

But generally speaking, artificial sweeteners like sucralose are gluten-free friendly.

Is Taurine Gluten-Free?

Taurine is an amino acid that can be found in animal foods such as meat, fish, and dairy.

The role of Taurine in energy drinks includes proper hydration, forming bile salts which are essential in digestion, regulating minerals and supporting the function of the central nervous system, and regulating immune system health and antioxidant function.

Moreover, Taurine is not synthesized, so it is unlikely to have gluten derivatives in Taurine, making it safe for a gluten-free diet.

Other Gluten-Free Products

If you’re still skeptical about Venom being gluten-free friendly, you can always do your own research or look up other energy drinks that are gluten-free.

I’ve listed down some energy drinks that are gluten-free that you might consider:

Although it is undeniable that being on a gluten-free diet may be hard due to limited choices of foods, there are still plenty of substitutes and alternatives to foods that are fit for your gluten-free diet.

You can check this list by celiac.org to check your product’s gluten-free status.

Final Thoughts

Upon reviewing Venom’s ingredients, it’s safe to say that it is gluten-free and can be included in your gluten-free diet.

A gluten-free diet is another way to live a healthier lifestyle and relieve digestion problems. But I still think it’s a decent move to do thorough research and consider the cons of switching to this diet.

Or better yet, consult your attending physician about this diet to learn more about the implications of a gluten-free diet (or any diet) to your health.

If you find this article interesting, feel free to check out other Venom-related articles on this website, or you can click the links below.

Related Articles:

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

5-Hour Energy Review (In-Depth)

Venom Energy Drink Review (Detailed)

Next