,

Is Venom Energy Drink Vegan? (Analysed)

Veganism is just one of the many recent dietary practices that have been adopted across the world, and not merely for health or medical purposes

More and more people have become aware of the environmental impact of the meat industry and have taken the necessary steps to cut down on their consumption of animal products.

But do energy drinks make the cut? Let’s find out.

Energy drinks are loved by a lot of people, but have you ever wondered whether energy drinks like Venom Energy Drink are considered vegan?

The short answer for that question is an unofficial no, the reason is that Venom Energy Drink hasn’t claimed that their energy drink is vegan. However, there are no signs of animal products if you read the ingredients of Venom Energy Drink.

A brief statement and an uncertain answer is not enough if you’re striving to be thoroughly informed, so keep on reading as you dive deeper into veganism and how Venom Energy Drinks might be okay for vegans to drink.

Pros and Cons of Venom Energy Drink

There are pros and cons when it comes to drinking Venom Energy Drink, knowing both sides can make you an informed consumer and help you make better decisions when it comes to the products you’re consuming.

Pros

Energy drinks like Venom Energy Drink promise to give you energy, or at least the feeling of it. However, various energy drinks differ in their content of caffeine and the amount of caffeine plays a vital role in how long the caffeine will last in your body.

A single can of Venom Energy Drink has a ton of caffeine which can certainly keep you energized, awake, alert, and even improve cognitive function. Caffeine can tremendously help you to accomplish your daily activities whether physical or mental.

Cons

The main problem that Venom Energy Drink has is its sugar content, which is a whopping 54g of added sugar per serving.

A high amount of sugar can lead to a lot of serious health problems like type 2 diabetes, weight gain, and may even increase your risk of depression.

On top of that, Venom Energy Drink also contains artificial sweeteners which make the energy drink sweeter (keep in mind that artificial sweeteners don’t give you calories but it also has its fair share of disadvantages).

Venom Energy Drink Nutrition Facts

Here’s a table showing the nutrition facts of Venom Energy Drink:

ypical Value
(Standard Serving)
Venom Energy Drink
(16 fl.oz)
Energy230 calories
Protein0g
Carbohydrate
(Of which Sugars)
57g
(54g)
Sodium300mg
Caffeine160mg
Vitamin B2
(Riboflavin)
3.2mg
Vitamin B3
(Niacin)
36mg
Vitamin B5
(Panthothenic Acid)
Vitamin B64mg
Vitamin B1212μg
Nutrition Facts of Venom Energy Drink

Venom Energy Drink Ingredients

Here’s a list showing the ingredients of Venom Energy Drink:

  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Glucose
  • Citric Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Taurine
  • Sodium Citrate (Preservative)
  • L-Carnitine
  • Inositol
  • Sodium Benzoate (Preservative)
  • Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
  • Natural Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Ginseng Extract
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6)
  • Guarana Extract
  • Caramel Color
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B12)

Are the Ingredients in Venom Energy Drink Vegan?

Determining whether an ingredient is vegan or not, you need to know where it comes from or where it’s obtained. Here’s a table showing you the ingredients and whether or not they’re vegan:

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs It Vegan?
High Fructose Corn SyrupSweetener derived from cornOrganicYes
GlucoseSweetener, thickener and moisturiser used in food productionCorn StarchYes
Citric AcidNatural acid, flavoring, and food preservativePlant-Based/SyntheticYes
MaltodextrinUsed to thicken the volume and preserve processed foodCorn StarchYes
TaurineAmino Acid,
Helps stimulate metabolism
SyntheticYes
Sodium CitrateFlavoring and preservativeSyntheticYes
L-CarnitineHelps improve metabolism and energySynthetic/OrganicUnclear
InositolHelps improve nervous system and produces hormones like serotonin and dopaminePlant-Based/ SyntheticYes
Sodium BenzoatePreservativeSyntheticYes
Potassium SorbatePreservativePlant-BasedYes
NiacinamideVitamin B3SyntheticTypically Vegan
Natural FlavorsFlavoringAnimal/Plant-BasedMay be Non-Vegetarian
SucraloseArtificial SweetenerSyntheticYes
Ginseng ExtractHerb that helps improves memory and brain functions.Plant-BasedYes
Pyridoxine HydrochlorideVitamin B6SyntheticTypically Vegan
Guarana ExtractContains antioxidants and stimulantsPlant-BasedYes
Caramel ColorFood flavoring and coloringNatural Sources (Sugar or Corn)Yes
RiboflavinVitamin B2Plant-BasedTypically Vegan
CyanocobalaminVitamin B12SyntheticUnspecified
Ingredients of Venom Energy Drink and Whether They Are Vegan or Not

Is the Taurine in Venom Energy Drink Vegan?

Taurine is an amino acid which is often added in energy drinks, this ingredient has been said to help improve your performance in sports or any physical activities.

Originally, taurine was extracted from bull’s semen. However, energy drinks like Venom Energy Drink get taurine synthetically produced by pharmaceutical companies. Thus, making taurine a vegan ingredient.

Is The Artificial Sweetener and Added Sugar in Venom Energy Drink Vegan?

Sucralose, glucose, and high fructose corn syrup are the ingredients used to give Venom Energy Drink its sweet taste.

The first artificial sweetener is sucralose; it’s (400–700 times) sweeter than regular sugar and doesn’t contain any animal ingredients. Sucralose has no calories and it doesn’t give you a bitter aftertaste which is a common problem for artificial sweeteners like saccharin and cyclamate.

However, there’s a conundrum on the use of artificial sweeteners since it has been reported that the productioin of sucralose did involve animal testing at one point.

Glucose is a type of simple sugar that can be immediately used by the body as fast energy. It is abundant in simple carbohydrates like bread, pasta, and potatoes.

There are no official statements on whether glucose is vegan or not, but as you can see, there are no indications of animals as a means of obtaining glucose.

The last ingredient used for making Venom Energy Drink sweet is high fructose corn syrup, it’s a sugar-based sweetener that’s derived from corn and is considered as a sugar alternative. According to Vegan Analyzer, high fructose corn syrup is 100% vegan since it’s just sugar from corn starch.

Are The Natural Flavors in Venom Energy Drink Vegan?

Sadly, the specific source of Venom Energy Drink’s natural flavor is not known. But generally, the flavoring agent of Venom Energy Drink is taken from plants or animals. If you follow a strict vegan diet, this uncertainty may concern you.

Manufacturers often use substances from plants, fruits, or animals to enhance the taste of their product. Please bear in mind that natural flavors don’t add nutrition value to the food or beverage, its purpose is simply to make the product flavorful.

Venom Energy Flavors

There are a plethora of options when it comes to choosing Venom Energy Drink, I’ll indicate the regular flavors and low-calorie flavors of Venom Energy Drink below.

Venom Regular

  • Black Mamba
  • Death Adder
  • Killer Tapian
  • Mojave Rattler
  • Black Cherry Kiwi

Venom Low-Calorie

  • Citrus
  • Strawberry Apple
  • Watermelon Lime

Is Venom Energy Drink Vegan-Friendly?

If you’re looking for an energy drink that doesn’t have ingredients that have been made by animals, then Venom Energy Drink is a good option. Although the vague and uncertain sources of sucralose and natural flavors might make you hesitate on whether you should drink Venom Energy Drinks.

However, if your reason for being vegan is solely for health benefits, then consuming Venom Energy Drink in moderation is alright. Nonetheless, it’s really up to you if you’ll consume the drink or not.

Alternatives to Energy Drinks That Are Also Vegan

Even though most energy drinks are okay for vegan, it doesn’t mean they’re necessarily okay for your body. That’s why I suggest you try to explore the world of beverage and look for alternatives.

There are far more healthier beverages that not only can give you energy, but also offer a variety of benefits. Here’s a table of alternative vegan-friendly beverages that might interest you:

Vegan-Friendly BeveragesBenefits
WaterLubricates the joints, delivers oxygen throughout the body, forms saliva and mucus, regulates body temperature, and flushes body waste.
Orange Juice or Other Fruit JuiceReduces your risk of cancer, boosts your immune system, removes toxins from your body, aids digestion, and helps you lose weight.
TeaContains antioxidants, has less caffeine than coffee, makes you lose weight, may help protect your bones, reduce your risk of heart attack/stroke, and can decrease tooth loss.
Chocolate DrinksCan improve brain function, very nutritious, powerful source of antioxidants, reduces heart disease risk, may protect your skin from the sun, and improves your blood flow.
Beverages That Are Vegan-Friendly and Their Benefits

Benefits of Veganism

If you’re tired of reading, sit back and watch this video. It’ll explain being vegan is beneficial and how it may help the environment:

How could veganism change the world? | The Economist

Conclusion

Food and beverage companies are generally required by law to state if there are any animal based ingredients in their formulation, however, not all brands are forthcoming, or even aware that their ingredients may contain animal byproducts.

Moreover, even products that do not contain any animal sources are still not technically vegan, especially if they are made from ingredients that have undergone animal testing.

Vegan certification agencies like vegan.org, have very strict rules about bestowing vegan labels on food and beverage products because not only must they be free from animal sources, but also free from ingredients that been tested on animals.

I suspect this is why Venom, like most energy drinks, do not have vegan labels, because while their formulation seemingly do not contain any trace of animal sources, sucralose is listed as an ingredient

And we all know about the dark history of sucralose (particularly Splenda).

So it’s up to you to make the decision whether to go for Venom or not. But even if Venom is vegan friendly, it’s still kind of terrible for your health due to it’s high sugar content, so be sure to drink no more than one can a day and limit your intake to one can a week.

Other Articles

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

Raze Energy Drink Caffeine and Ingredients (Facts)

Adrenaline Shoc Caffeine And Ingredients (Truth)

Next