,

Is 3D Energy Vegan? (Analysis)

If you’re looking for a vegan drink that is packed with high caffeine and a nice dose of B-Vitamins, 3D Energy is worth considering!

To answer the question: Yes, 3D Energy is vegan.

The 3D Energy website confirms that their energy drinks are vegan. It also claims to offer a clean boost of energy that comes in fantastic flavors.

It contains unique proprietary blend, zero sugar, caffeine, and only 15 calories per can which is enough to boost your energy for a couple of hours.

Let’s take closer at the ingredients to see if 3D is really vegan.

3D Energy Nutrition Facts

3D Energy Nutrition Facts
3D Energy Nutrition Facts

3D Energy Drink Ingredients

3D Energy Drink Ingredients List

Here are the ingredients found in 3D Energy drink:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Citric Acid
  • Erythritol
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Natural and Artificial Flavor
  • Caffeine
  • Sucralose
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Gum Acacia
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Vitamin B3 (Niacinamide)
  • Sodium Chloride
  • Vitamin B5 (Pantothenic acid)
  • Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine hydrochloride)
  • Vitamin B12 (Cyanocobalamin)

A can of 3D Energy also contains 1.5g of proprietary energy blend which are:

  • Taurine
  • Panax Ginseng Root Extract
  • L-Carnitine Tartrate
  • Guarana Seed Extract
  • Inositol
  • D-Glucuronolactone

Let’s take a look at this table for a better understanding of 3D Energy Drink ingredients, their sources, and if they’re vegan or not.

IngredientsSourceIs it vegan or not?
TaurineUsually syntheticYES
Panax Ginseng Root ExtractPlant-basedYES
Guarana Seed ExtractPlant-basedYES
L-Carnitine TartrateSyntheticYES
D-GlucuronolactonePlantYES
Vitamin B5 (Pantothenic acid)Usually syntheticYES
Vitamin B12 (Cyanocobalamin)Fungal, bacterial, syntheticYES
Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine hydrochloride)SyntheticYES
Vitamin B3 (Niacinamide)SyntheticYES
Sodium ChlorideSea water/ mineral depositsYES
Gum AcaciaPlant-basedYES
Acesulfame PotassiumSyntheticYES
Potassium SorbateSyntheticYES
SucraloseSyntheticYES
Sodium BenzoateSyntheticYES
CaffeinePlant-basedYES
Natural and Artificial FlavorsPlant-based/ SyntheticYES
ErythritolPlant-basedYES
Sodium CitrateSyntheticYES
Citric AcidPlant-basedYES
Carbonated WaterSyntheticYES

Is Taurine Vegan-Friendly?

Taurine itself is vegan and is simply an acid in its natural state. It is exclusively found in animals.

When it comes to energy drinks we can all assume that manufacturers are using vegan-friendly taurine.

However, if you’re a strict vegan, it is best to call the manufacturer to confirm how vegan their ingredients are unless their products are vegan certified.

Some of the potential benefits that you can gain from taurine includes:

  • promotes healthy metabolism
  • protects the muscles
  • protects the heart
  • improved exercise performance

Are The Artificial Sweeteners in 3D Energy Vegan?

The artificial sweeteners present in 3D Energy Drink are relatively vegan.

Sucralose, acesulfame potassium, and erythritol are the artificial sweeteners found in 3D Energy.

These ingredients are all made in laboratories using chemicals which makes it vegan-friendly.

Erythritol is advertised as a natural sweetener. It is derived from a natural source which may be the reason why FDA labeled it as a “natural” ingredient.

Acesulfame potassium is a no-calorie sweetener that is also present in 3D Energy Drinks. Well, there’s been a controversy whether or not it is vegan because of its animal testing.

But consider this:

Tests were done by researchers and universities, not by manufacturers and companies, to examine the side effects of acesulfame potassium. That being said, many people do consider it somewhat vegan-friendly.

Sucralose is considered vegan-friendly since it does not contain any animal by-product.

However, strict vegans don’t consider it vegan because it involves animal testing that caused over 12,000 deaths.

It was reported that researchers feed sucralose-infused food to mice, dogs, monkeys, and rabbits and most of them died due to brain damage, intestinal disorder, and gut inflammation.

Surely, you’ll go ballistic with this if you’re a moral vegan!

Are the B-Vitamins in 3D Energy Drink Vegan?

B-Vitamins play a key role in cell metabolism and the synthesis of red blood cells.

The B-Vitamins found in 3D includes:

These B-Vitamins are considered mostly vegan because most of them are sourced from plants except Vitamin B12.

Vitamin B12 is sourced from animal-based food which becomes a red flag if you are following a strict vegan lifestyle.

On a side note:

You need to eat enough vitamin B12 if you’re following a vegan diet. Here are some of the benefits that you might be missing:

  • improves memory
  • reduces heart attack
  • protection from Alzheimer’s
  • improve your balance

Is Sodium Citrate Vegan?

Sodium citrate is considered vegan because the manufacturing process does not involve the use of animals.

It is commonly used as a flavoring ingredient in carbonated drinks, powdered drinks, jellies, ice cream, yogurt, and more.

It is synthesized through the neutralization of sodium carbonate or sodium hydroxide with citric acid. Thus, it is considered vegan-friendly.

Sodium citrate is safe to consume and use in food as per FDA.

What Are The Preservatives Used in 3D Energy?

Sodium benzoate and sodium citrate are the preservatives used in 3D Energy. You’ll be happy to know that these two preservatives are mostly vegan.

Generally speaking, it is safe to take a small number of preservatives in food. Too much of it can lead to various symptoms such as headaches, palpitations, and worst-case scenario, cancer.

Check the FDA website to see the food additive status list to ensure that everything on your food or drink is safe to consume.

Is 3D Energy Vegan or Not?

Based on my analysis, we can assume that 3D Energy Drink is vegan from a health perspective.

The ingredients do not contain animal by-products making it a safe addition to your vegan diet.

I understand your concern with animal testing when it comes to artificial sweeteners.

So, my advice for you is to perform due diligence to ensure all ingredients are vegan-friendly.

How Much Caffeine is in 3D Energy?

A cup of cocoa beans
Caffeine is the most socially acceptable drug for some reason.

A 16 fl.oz can of 3D Energy contains 200 mg caffeine.

Caffeine is the main component of energy drinks that gives you a boost for a few hours. It is a widely used drug with stimulating effects.

It stimulates the central nervous system which gives your body a sense of alertness. It also raises the heart rate, blood pressure, and dehydrates the body.

FDA recommends a maximum intake of 400mg caffeine in a day. Thus, you can actually consume up to 2 cans of 3D Energy drinks. However, I would not recommend you to do so as you can easily overdose if you consume any other caffeinated beverage for the rest of the day.

Excessive caffeine in the body can lead to the following symptoms:

  • insomnia
  • digestive issues
  • anxiety
  • fatigue
  • rapid heartbeat

As for the question – is it vegan? Absolutely, if it is naturally sourced.

Does 3D Energy Drink Actually Work?

3D Energy Drink does work if consumed responsibly.

A can of 3D Energy Drink is enough to give you a good boost for a few hours. I felt that caffeine kick 20 minutes after drinking it and I was brimming with energy for almost 3 hours.

Overall, I can say that it works effectively as an energy booster.

However, I suggest trying one for yourself to really confirm.

Feel free to watch this video to learn more about how well energy drink works.

Discussion on how well energy drinks work.

Is 3D Energy Drink Healthy?

From my perspective, energy drinks are not that healthy due to the chemical-based ingredients present on each can.

On the other hand, it is designed to keep you energized and stay alert while finishing up your task.

I’d say having a can once in a while won’t probably hurt you as long as you drink in moderation.

I strongly recommend following FDA’s proposed intake per day to avoid any of the adverse effects.

3D Energy Drink Alternatives

Here are a few alternatives to 3D Energy Drink that are worth considering:

  • Celsius
  • Bang
  • Red Bull
  • Rockstar
  • XS
  • Rip It
  • Guru
  • Bing
  • GFuel

3D Energy Drink Flavors

If you’re curious to know what kind of flavors does 3D Energy have, here’s a list for you:

  • Grape
  • Candy Punch
  • Cotton Candy
  • Sun Burst
  • Citrus
  • Liberty Pop
  • Frost
  • Berry Blue

Final Thoughts

Most ingredients on 3D Energy are considered vegan-friendly because they are created in the lab using chemicals.

However, the animal testing controversy can become an issue as it goes against the premise of moral veganism.

That being said, I suggest doing your own research about the ingredients to ensure how vegan it is.

Also, I would like to emphasize that energy drinks, in general, are not that healthy. Still, it wouldn’t hurt to have a can once in a while as long as you consume it responsibly.

So, if you’re looking for an effective energy booster that is relatively vegan, 3D Energy is certainly amongst the top choices!

Other Articles

These are other articles you can read for more information on 3D Energy drink:

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

Mountain Dew Kickstart Caffeine and Ingredients

Where To Buy Monster Energy Drink? (Best Deals)

Next