Skip to Content

Is Celsius Energy Drink Vegan? (And More)

Celsius Energy Drink is known for many things- natural ingredients, no sugar, gluten-free, you name it. But it also has one more thing going for it that makes it more inclusive than any other brand.

If you look at the label below, you’ll notice a distinct logo at the top right corner.

Celsius Labeling and info
That’s a lot to unpack.

I’m happy to report that Celsius Energy Drink is indeed certified vegan!

But you also may be wondering: “Is it truly vegan? Are you sure?”

Celsius Energy Drink is vegan, and yes, I am sure. Ethical vegans, however, might have a problem with sucralose, so they should opt for Celsius Stevia instead.

So let’s break it down and see for yourself the certified vegan status of Celsius Energy Drink. But first, let’s run through an overview of the ingredients and nutrition facts.

Celsius Energy Drink Nutrition Facts

NutrientAmountPercent Daily Value (%DV)
Total Carbohydrate2g1%
Vitamin B2 or Riboflavin1.7mg131%
Vitamin B3 or Niacin
(as niacinamide)
Vitamin B5 or Pantothenic Acid
(as calcium d-pantothenate)
Vitamin B6 or Pyridoxine
(as pyridoxine hydrochloride)
Vitamin B7 or Biotin300mcg1000%
Vitamin B12 or Cobalamin
(as cyanocobalamin)
Vitamin C or Ascorbic Acid60mg67%
Calcium carbonate50mg4%
Chromium (chelate)50mcg143%
Table of Celsius’s nutrition.
Celsius Nutrition Facts
Nutrition Facts on the back of a Celsius Can.

Celsius Energy Drink Ingredients

Celsius also contains all these within its nutritious blend:

  • MetaPlus® Proprietary Blend
    • Taurine
    • Guarana extract (seed)
    • Caffeine (caffeine anhydrous)
    • Glucuronolactone
    • Ginger extract (root)
    • Green Tea Leaf extract (15% EGCG)
  • Carbonated Filtered Water
  • Citric Acid
  • Fruit and Vegetable Juice
  • Sucralose
  • Natural Flavor

Celsius makes sure you know that they do not have:

  • Sugar
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Aspartame
  • Preservatives
  • Artificial Colors or Flavors

Is Celsius Energy Drink Vegan-Certified?

Celsius Energy is certified by, a well-known vegan advocate brand, which makes Celsius as vegan as it can get. is a globally recognized vegan organization that specializes in vegan certification of food products, with their signature “V” logo only granted to food products that are 100% free of animal origin and testing.

Each product goes through a rigorous evaluation process to ensure that it does not fall under any one of the categories that disqualifies it as being vegan, and the standards are quite strict.

Considering that Celsius does have the certified-vegan label, this pretty much confirms that the energy drink is definitely vegan-friendly, at least from a commercial perspective.

Are ALL Celsius drinks vegan?

Not all Celsius drinks are vegan. Some of their flavors contain milk or honey, which are not vegan. But their vegan options are the following flavors: OriginalGreen TeaCherry PomegranateRaspberry AcaiGuava White TeaMango GingerLemon LimeSparkling OrangePineapple Coconut.

These product variations Celsius drinks are considered vegan because they do not contain any animal-based ingredients. Hence, they can be enjoyed by health-conscious consumers.

Are The Ingredients Vegan-Friendly?

Is Caffeine Vegan-Friendly?

Caffeine, or more specifically “caffeine anhydrous” as it is listed in the ingredients, is vegan-friendly.

Caffeine anhydrous comes from the leaves and seeds of the coffee plant.

It is not the regular coffee grounds that you get from the beans, but a purer, more potent substance that has been refined through an extraction process.

Are Vitamins in Celsius Vegan-Friendly?

Vitamins in Celsius are vegan-friendly.

Have a look at this table I made of the vitamins in Celsius below:

Vitamin B2
or Riboflavin
Helps in the digestion and absorption
of nutrients; maintains tissue health
Vitamin B3
or Niacin
(as niacinamide)
Converts nutrients to energy; repairs DNA;
supports system as antioxidant
Vitamin B5
or Pantothenic Acid
(as calcium d-pantothenate)
Breaks down fats, proteins and coenzyme A;
promotes healthy skin
Vitamin B6
or Pyridoxine
(as pyridoxine hydrochloride)
Supports the central nervous system;
ensures smooth metabolism
Vitamin B7
or Biotin
Metabolizes fats, carbohydrates, and protein
Vitamin B12
or Cobalamin
(as cyanocobalamin)
Generates red blood cells; maintains
brain function and nerve tissue health
Vitamin C
or Ascorbic Acid
Acts as an antioxidant;
maintains bones, skin, and blood vessels
The functions of the 7 vitamins in Celsius

Note that the vitamins B3, B5, B6, and B12 are artificial vitamins, which means they were synthesized in labs using chemicals and not extracted from either animal or plant material.

This makes them vegan-friendly since chemicals are derived from non-living sources like naturally-occurring minerals and elements.

Natural vitamin B12, for instance, is normally obtained from meat, fish, and dairy products. Using artificial vitamin B12 avoids this.

Vitamin C is mainly derived from citrus fruits.

As for vitamin B2 and B7, they can be gained through meat, but not necessarily. Vitamin B2 can be found in mushrooms and almonds, and vitamin B7 in oats and nuts.

We do not know exactly which source they come from, but nutrition labels, even vegan ones, are more or less trustworthy.

It’s important to remember that most popular brands avoid false advertising simply to avoid lawsuits should any independent lab test reveal any ugly truths about their products.

Is Sucralose Vegan-Friendly?

Sucralose is vegan-friendly, but not in the eyes of ethical vegans.

Sucralose is vegan because it is a synthetic sugar, made in labs. Any vegans aside from ethical vegans can safely consume sucralose without worrying if it comes from an animal.

Unnatural Vegan, a vegan critic, defends the use of sucralose (Splenda brand) in her diet.

Some vegans have brought forth reasons to argue that sucralose should not be consumed, but in this video above, Unnatural Vegan debunks the accusations brought up against sucralose.

That being said…

Sucralose has been tested on over 10,000 animals, which is frowned upon by ethical vegans. If you’re just in it for health, you wouldn’t think twice, but ethical vegans should take note of sucralose in Celsius beforehand.

However, it’s important to note as well that the vegan certification issued by disqualifies any product that is has been tested on animals, including the ingredients.

So it’s a tricky business trying to figure out the facts. However, if Celsius was approved by, which has very strict protocols regarding its certification process, it’s safe to assume that the sucralose in Celsius was ethically sourced.

As for whether sucralose is safe and healthy, that is another question altogether. Artificial sweeteners have been under investigation for almost as long as they have existed, and not all of them have been proven safe.

One study links non-caloric sweeteners (such as sucralose) with causing glucose intolerance. Another study calls for a reduction of sweetener usage, due to its potential for causing obesity and other diseases.

Note that Celsius ‘Stevia’, a sub-brand of Celsius, replaces sucralose with Stevia as a sweetener, which could be an option for ethical vegans.

Is MetaPlus® Proprietary Blend Vegan-Friendly?

Celsius’s proprietary blend is vegan friendly.

To recap, these are the main ingredients of the special blend:

  • Taurine
  • Guarana extract (seed)
  • Caffeine (caffeine anhydrous)
  • Ginger extract (root)
  • Green Tea Leaf extract (15% EGCG)

Most of these are natural extracts from fruits and seeds and roots, with the exception of taurine.

Is Taurine Vegan-Friendly?

Taurine in Celsius is vegan-friendly.

Taurine is an amino acid that primarily occurs in meat, fish, and dairy. When it is added to products it may have been taken from animals or plant sources, or synthesized in a lab.

When it comes to energy drinks you can be confident that all the main brands and quite probably all the lesser ones too are using vegan-friendly taurine.

Vegan Friendly UK

Is Chromium Vegan-Friendly?

Chromium is vegan-friendly.

Chromium picolinate structure
Structure of chromium picolinate

Chromium in Celsius Energy Drink is actually chromium picolinate, which is a chelated version of chromium. It is a synthesized substance, so it is safe for vegans.

A brief overview of chromium picolinate:

Our bodies need minerals, but some minerals are harder to absorb than others. Chelated minerals are made to speed up absorption and to prevent the minerals from reacting with other substances.

Chromium picolinate is reportedly absorbed better by the body than regular chromium, and it appears to be quite stable in condition.

Is Celsius Energy Drink Kosher-Friendly?

Celsius Energy Drink is kosher, as it says on the label.

Now, what makes a food item “kosher”, and what does the word kosher even stand for?

In simple terms, kosher is a word used to describe food that abides by the dietary practices in Judaism, such as forbidding the consumption of certain animal products.

Celsius Energy Drink
Right in the center: a big kosher label.

Kosher standards are high, as you can note from the complete set of kosher rules, and are definitely much more complex than vegans’ rules. However, we can reliably trust kosher labels, making Celsius very much kosher-friendly.

Celsius Energy Drink Health Risks

Is Celsius Suitable For Everyone?

NOT RECOMMENDED for people who are caffeine sensitivechildren under 18, or women pregnant or nursing.

Stated on Celsius’ nutrition label.

Too much caffeine intake at once, or even a small amount for someone who is caffeine-sensitive, might cause the following effects:

  • Insomnia
  • Shakiness
  • Anxiousness
  • Increased Heart Rate
  • Stomachaches
  • Nausea
  • Headaches
  • Dysphoria

How Much Caffeine is in Celsius?

A can of Celsius Energy Drink contains 200mg of caffeine.

The daily maximum limit of caffeine recommended by the FDA is 400mg. 200mg can be considered a reasonable amount, not too much but not too little.

Celsius Fitness Drink
Warning on a can of Celsius

DO NOT exceed (2) servings per day.

Celsius’s nutrition label

2 cans would certainly add up to 400mg of caffeine. That being said, my advice is not to drink 2 cans a day, to prevent caffeine overdose. 

Is There Sugar in Celsius Energy Drink?

Celsius Energy Drink is entirely sugar-free.

However, if you are watching your carb intake, note that Celsius has 2 grams of total carbohydrate listed on the label. This may possibly come from the natural sugars present in the ingredient listed as “Fruit and Vegetable Juice”.

Please consult your physician if you are unsure whether these 2 grams will make a difference in your carb intake.

Is Celsius Energy Drink Healthy?

Celsius can be considered healthier than many other energy drinks because it has more natural ingredients, no artificial flavors, and many other beneficial components, but that does not mean it’s inherently ‘a healthy drink’.

As a drink, is Celsius healthy? Not really.

The drink that is most crucial for your health is undoubtedly plain water. Natural fruit juices such as orange juice are examples of truly healthy drinks.

There might be no world record for the next healthiest drink, but rest assured that Celsius Energy Drink is nowhere near the top of the list (because of their high caffeine content, for instance, and the presence of sucralose).

That being said, Celsius is definitely a healthier energy drink than your average fare off the shelf, so if you’re looking for an energy drink that’s not a sugary mess, Celsius might just do the trick.

For more info on Celsius and how healthy it really is, have a look at the video below:

Here the Caffeine Man analyzes what makes Celsius a healthy energy drink.

Alternative Vegan Energy Drinks

There are other alternative vegan energy drinks if Celsius doesn’t agree with your body, namely:

  • Red Bull
  • Monster
  • Rockstar
  • NOS
  • Reign
  • Guru
  • Raze
  • Bang

Personal Opinion

Overall, Celsius Energy Drink is certified vegan.

Celsius Energy Drink
Celsius. friend of vegans.

Celsius may not be the best energy drink out there, but we can appreciate their efforts to be more inclusive and to cater to marginalized individuals who may have unique or strict dietary practices.

Vegan or not, the issue of healthy ingredients should always be at the forefront of our minds, which Celsius addresses by using more “natural ingredients”.

In conclusion, Celsius is alright for regular vegans. Ethical vegans who have issues with sucralose may need to find other alternatives, such as the sucralose-free Celsius Stevia.

Other Articles

Skip to content