,

Is Sneak Energy Vegan? (Full Analysis)

With all of the excitement that new energy drink brands build, it’s necessary to take a step back. While they are attractive and exciting to purchase, they’re not always beneficial to your health. They may also be bad for the environment, given the number of chemicals used in modern food and drink.

So now lies the question: Where does Sneak Energy fit into all this? 

Sneak packets
Sneak in all its glory

Does having an energy drink contribute to the harm of additional innocent animals, or can it be consumed guilt-free?

To put it simply: Sneak Energy is a vegan product. Because the majority of its ingredients can be easily synthesized in a laboratory, there is little concern about animal byproducts being introduced into the mix.

Before we get into the specifics, let’s define what a vegan diet is and what kinds of products (such as food and beverages) are included.

What is a Vegan Diet?

Veganism is the practice of avoiding all animal byproducts in your diet. This means that vegans don’t consume meat, dairy products, or anything else that is known to contain animal products as one of the ingredients.

Vegans, on the other hand, eat vegetables, fruits, tofu, and other plant products. Dietary supplements make up for any deficiencies caused by following a plant-based diet.

There are numerous reasons why someone might decide to switch to a vegan diet. Sometimes it’s just a matter of eating healthier and avoiding the chemicals that can be found in animal-based foods. And in other times, it’s to live a life that doesn’t contribute to animal suffering.

Is Veganism All About Avoiding Meat?

As previously stated, many ingredients used in food today are derived from animals or animal byproducts. Moreover, many substances used to improve food quality in some way are tested on animals before being released to the market.

All of these are things that vegans who live the lifestyle for ethical reasons refuse to support. And many of them go so far as to avoid anything that has been tested on animals.

As expected, this creates a grey area in terms of artificial sweeteners and food colorings. Some vegans are willing to look past the history of animal testing and consume products that have been tested on animals, whereas others consider a history of animal testing to be a disqualifier from ever being vegan-friendly.

Sneak Energy Ingredients

To give you a bigger overview of why Sneak Energy is considered vegan, here’s a list of ingredients that you can find in a single tub:

  • L-Tyrosine
  • L-Taurine
  • Alpha GPC
  • Caffeine anhydrous
  • Carnitine
  • Maltodextrin
  • Malic acid
  • Natural Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Spirulina Powder (food coloring)
  • Silicon Dioxide 
Sneak Energy Nutrition Facts and Ingredients
Sneak Energy Nutrition Facts and Ingredients

In order to understand how Sneak Energy is a good vegan alternative, let’s look into its caffeine content and other of its main ingredients.

Is Caffeine in Sneak Vegan?

Coffee beans
Coffee beans

Caffeine contains no animal byproducts because it’s synthesized from coffee beans. The same can be said about Caffeine Anhydrous, which is the type of caffeine you can find in energy drinks. 

Caffeine Anhydrous is basically just very concentrated caffeine in powder form. What separates it from the usual caffeine or coffee powder is the amount of caffeine you can find per scoop. 

Where a single serving of normal coffee will give you 95mg of caffeine, a teaspoon of caffeine anhydrous will give you enough for 28 cups of coffee. That’s far above what anyone can safely drink in a day. 

According to the FDA, a healthy adult can drink no more than 400mg of caffeine a day. Any more than that, and you can expect to experience some nasty side effects. So although neither caffeine nor caffeine anhydrous is bad for your health on its own, you might want to be careful with your intake anyway. 

Is Tyrosine in Sneak Vegan?

Tyrosine is an amino acid that promotes focus, alertness, and attention. It aids in the production of chemicals in the brain that aid in neuron communication and mood regulation.

It’s synthesized in the body from another amino acid known as phenylalanine. It can also be found in dietary supplements and food. Cheese, fish, and many other high-protein foods are known to contain tyrosine.

As for what exactly tyrosine does for your body, here’s a table of the hormones it produces alongside their functions:

NeurotransmitterFunction 
Adrenaline Prepares the body for fight-or-flight responses in times of stress. 
NoradrenalinePrepares the body for fight-or-flight responses in times of stress. 
Thyroid hormonesRegulate metabolism. Produced in the thyroid 
Dopamine Involved in memory and motor skills. Regulates pleasure center of the brain 

Tyrosine is also believed to help people focus better in stressful situations. The FDA considers it safe to consume, but it may cause side effects if combined with other medications.

As of this writing, it is known that tyrosine should be avoided if you are taking Monoamine Oxidase Inhibitors (MAOIs), Levodopa (L-dopa), or thyroid medications.

Is Taurine in Sneak Vegan?

Taurine is an amino acid that can be produced within the body. It’s especially concentrated in the eyes, heart, and muscles. 

Despite its name, taurine is not derived from bulls. Nowadays, it is synthesized in laboratories, and the process is inexpensive enough that there is little reason to use an actual bull’s liver as in the past.

It also assists in many bodily functions like:

  • Maintaining electrolyte count 
  • Supporting the nervous system’s functions
  • Regulating calcium levels in the cells
  • Forming bile salts you can use during digestion
  • Maintaining hydration
  • Regulating antioxidants

In food, you can find taurine in meat, fish, and dairy products. It’s also common in sodas in energy drinks. 

Is L-Carnitine in Sneak Vegan?

L-carnitine is an amino acid that can be found both in the body and in dietary supplements. It’s best known for being important to energy metabolism and for helping maintain brain function. 

To be specific, L-carnitine helps break down fat so it can be converted to energy when you’re low on fuel. 

When it isn’t synthesized to be used as medication or as an ingredient in energy drinks, L-carnitine is made in the liver and kidneys from lysine and methionine (also amino acids). 

It’s also said to give you the following benefits:

  • Better heart health
  • Feeling less weak and tired (cancer patients)
  • More energy
  • Prevents cellular damage with waste removal
  • Better athletic performance
  • Aids weight loss

But like many other things, L-carnitine has side effects to watch out for such as:

  • Stomach cramps
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Diarrhea

After taking L-carnitine, some people reported having a ‘fishy’ body odor. The severity of the problem, however, is determined by the individual and their circumstances.

Is Maltodextrin in Sneak Vegan?

Maltodextrin is a food additive with many uses. It’s been used as a preservative by manufacturers and as a carbohydrate supplement for athletes. When looked at in person, it appears to be a starchy white powder. 

It can be made from anything that contains starch, which typically means grains like corn and wheat. Because no animals or animal by-products are used in the manufacturing process, it is suitable for vegans and vegetarians to consume.

Outside of energy drinks like Sneak, Maltodextrin is common in packaged foods. These include pastries, candies, and meat substitutes. It can also be found in soft drinks. It’s also considered safe to consume by the FDA. 

Are Natural Flavors in Sneak Vegan?

Pizza, salad, beer, and cake
Yup, they can all be ‘Natural Flavors’

Natural Flavors are usually vegan. 

Natural Flavors are a broad concept that covers anything extracted from a plant or animal for the purpose of flavoring food. As a result, it is not always vegan. It’s a label that can easily be changed to cover up non-vegan or vegan ingredients.

But in practice, it varies between products. As mentioned, ‘Natural Flavors’ can also refer to substances that were derived from plants. It can also mean that the flavors just weren’t based on any chemicals like artificial flavors. 

For reference examples of ingredients that can be ‘Natural Flavors’ are:

  • Dairy products
  • Meat
  • Seafood
  • Vegetables
  • Fruits
  • Grains 
  • Spices
  • Herbs

So yes, it really is a mixed bag. And you won’t always know when you purchase. 

Are Artificial Sweeteners in Sneak Vegan?

Artificial Sweeteners are controversial among vegans.

On the one hand, they’re synthesized in labs so there aren’t any animals or animal products involved in the process of making them. Artificial sweeteners have a history of being tested and studied through animal testing.

According to a study, over 12,000 animals have died due to tests that were done to study Splenda. This can seem like a “red flag” for many vegans.

The artificial sweeteners found in Sneak Energy are Sucralose (Splenda) and Acesulfame Potassium (Ace-K). 

Splenda is made through a process that involves replacing some hydrogen-oxygen groups in sucrose (regular table sugar) with chlorine atoms. The result is a sugar substitute that’s 600 times sweetener than sugar and doesn’t get absorbed by the body during digestion.

Acesulfame Potassium is made by mixing Acetoacetic acid with Potassium. This results in a white powder that’s 200 times sweeter than sugar but has a bitter aftertaste. Manufacturers usually get around this aftertaste by mixing Ace-K with other artificial sweeteners when using it on a product. 

Is Spirulina Powder in Sneak Vegan?

Spirulina is a kind of algae that can be taken as a dietary supplement. Some consider it a superfood because of its nutritional content and the health benefits it offers those who eat it. 

Besides being a rich source of vitamins and proteins, Spirulina has antioxidant and anti-inflammation properties. It’s also known for being capable of boosting your immune system. 

The health benefits of Spirulina are: 

  • Many vitamins
  • Helps with weight loss
  • Better gut health
  • Lower blood sugar levels
  • Lower cholesterol
  • Lower blood pressure
  • Better metabolism
  • Reduced chance of heart disease
  • Reduced allergy symptoms
  • Good treatment for poisoning
  • Supports serotonin production for better mental health

Is Silicon Dioxide in Sneak Vegan?

Vegetables
Leafy greens (and co.)

As the name implies, Silicon Dioxide is a mixture of silicon and oxygen. As a food additive, it acts as an anti-caking agent that prevents the powder grains in Sneak from clumping together. This helps extend Sneak’s shelf life and protects it from the effects of moisture. In food, you can find it in leafy green vegetables and some grains. 

Final Thoughts

Sneak Energy is a vegan product. Its ingredients and manufacturing process contain no animals or animal byproducts. It does, however, contain some ingredients that some vegans may find objectionable. This was also confirmed on Sneak’s official FAQ. 

Sneak Energy, in my opinion, is worth a shot. Aside from being vegan-friendly, it is also low in sugar and calories, unlike other brands. So it’s at least slightly healthier than most brands. Try not to overdo it with the caffeine though. 200mg of caffeine per serving can be a lot depending on your tolerance.

Other Articles:

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

How Much X-Gamer Can You Drink a Day? (Details)

Can You Drink Rogue Every Day? (Answered)

Next