Skip to Content

Is Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy Gluten-Free? (Answered)

Over time, people have started to be concerned about their health more than ever. With increasing awareness of Celiac disease, gluten-free diets are being followed more strictly. 

It may surprise you to know that people without Celiac symptoms more often add gluten-free foods to their diet; this can have adverse effects on their health.

Since you’re here to find out if your favorite ON’s Amino supplement has gluten in it, here’s a quick answer to your question:

If you look at the label of Amino supplement, you won’t find a single ingredient containing gluten, so you can say it’s completely gluten-free. But people with serious wheat allergies or other gluten sensitivities are not advised to have it as it’s not certified gluten-free.

In this article, I’ll let you know everything you need to know about gluten and who should avoid it. Also, I’ll make sure you know what ingredients and nutrition facts are in the Amino Energy supplement. 

If you wish to learn more about these things, this article is for you.

Who Should Avoid Gluten?

Several grains, including wheat and barley, contain a protein called gluten. As a binding agent, it can be found in bread, cereals, and bakery items.

It only causes an immune reaction to those suffering from Celiac and wheat allergies. If you don’t experience any digestive problem after having bread, pasta or anything made up of wheat, you’re not gluten sensitive.

It has become very convenient to find food specifically made for Celiac sensitive individuals. Many online and physical stores have a wide range of food with gluten-free labels.

In case you don’t find a gluten-free label on foods, you’re advised to check out the ingredients very carefully to avoid any reaction.

Watch this video to get a better idea.

Video Explaining Gluten in detail

Celiac Disease 

It is estimated that one out of every hundred people has gluten sensitivity. In case you don’t know, it’s a rare disease that can be transferred from generation to generation. 

The most common signs of this disease are stomach aches and digestive problems. Whenever you experience any of these symptoms after eating gluten-containing foods, you should consult your physician immediately. 

However, it doesn’t necessarily mean you have Celiac disease. Different tests are recommended to determine the real cause of these symptoms. 

After testing negative, you may still face the same symptoms of Celiac disease like; bloating, digestive issues, and brain fog are a few of those symptoms. 

In case, Celiac disease is not the real cause behind these symptoms, it can either be Non-celiac gluten sensitivity or you’re allergic to wheat. Either way, it’s advised to eliminate gluten from your food completely.

Wheat Allergy 

gluten
Wheat is a common source of gluten.

Breakfast for most people is incomplete without cereals, pancakes, and bread. As you can see, these are the major sources of gluten in your diet. 

You’ll be surprised to know that apart from these, gluten can be found in some unexpected foods such as ice creams, soy sauce, and fried chicken wings.

You’ll find wheat allergy to be more common than Celiac. In most cases, it is caused by people’s immune systems reacting negatively to the proteins found in wheat.

It is possible for some people to be so allergic to wheat flour that even breathing it can cause an allergic reaction. This allergy might appear in minutes or hours after consuming or inhaling the wheat. It has the following symptoms:

  • Breath shortening
  • Runny Nose
  • Digestion issues
  • Hives
  • Loss of consciousness
  • Swelling

Having this allergy can be a nightmare, so the only solution to avoid this is adopting a gluten-free diet. You should also take a closer look at the ingredients on the label before adding any food item to your diet.

Benefits of a Gluten-Free diet for Non-Celiac?

If you’re someone who’s never experienced any symptoms of gluten sensitivity and wants to adopt this diet. Let me tell you, there’s not a reliable source that can tell you about the benefits of adopting a gluten-free diet. In fact, it can affect your health adversely.

We can hope, in the future, we can find out if it has any benefits for healthy individuals.

On one level, it’s possible that your test fails to show any disease. However, you still may experience symptoms similar to those with a Celiac. In this case, it could be classified as non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Remember, it isn’t a disease, but a condition.

You’ll find this condition more prevalent than Celiac disease. It is also questionable why an individual without Celiac disease experiences these symptoms?  

It’s possible to experience the same symptoms as someone with the disease will face. At the same time, no testing would be able to prove if you’re going through this situation. 

Remember that Celiac disease can be detected via a blood test. However, non-celiac gluten sensitivity cannot be diagnosed. 

Those suffering from this health problem may face the following symptoms:

  • Diarrhea
  • Rash on skin
  • Foggy brain
  • Bloating (other stomach related issues)
  • Pain in joints

It’s notable that you’ll experience these symptoms only after having wheat. I’d suggest you completely avoid foods containing any grains as the majority of grains contain this kind of protein.

Is it safe to follow a Gluten-Free Diet?

gluten-free diet
Is it safe to follow a Gluten-Free Diet?

Grains are a significant source of calories and vitamins. However, it seems impossible to eliminate them from your diet completely. It’s easy to get these vitamins and calories from other substitutes of grains.

If you’re concerned about the safety of adopting a gluten-free diet, let me assure you it doesn’t cause any side effects. As long as you’ve gluten hypersensitivity. If you face any symptoms associated with gluten sensitivity, it’s advisable to choose food that comes with a gluten-free label.

Are ingredients in Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy Gluten-Free? 

This article aims to ascertain whether the ingredients used in Amino Energy supplements satisfy the gluten-free requirement. Let’s see what we get from one serving of Amino which is 9g:

IngredientsAmount Per Serving (9g)
Total Carbohydrate1g
Calories5
Amino Blend5g
Energy Blend160mg
Table showing NO’s Amino Energy Ingredients

Other Ingredients:

  • Citric Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • Artificial & Natural Flavors
  • Tartaric Acid
  • Green Tea Extract
  • Caffeine (From green tea)
  • Calcium Silicate
  • Gum Blend
  • Sucralose
  • Lecithin

This amino and energy blend, as you can see, doesn’t have any signs of wheat. In my opinion, NO’s Amino supplement is gluten-free. However, I won’t recommend it to you if you’re sensitive to gluten since it’s not declared by the brand.

In this case, it’s advisable to contact the manufacturer to get the right information.

Nutrition Facts of Amino Energy

Amino Energy drinks
Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy Drinks

As we have already examined what ingredients Amino Energy supplement contains and found no sign of wheat in them. Which makes it a gluten-free energy supplement.

You can see on the label that two scoops of Amino supplement make one serving, which contains 160mg of energy blend. 

In this 160mg energy blend, you get 100mg of caffeine which is extracted from green tea. This energy blend gives you enough energy that works best as a pre-workout.

This sugar-free energy blend, in my opinion, is too sweet to tolerate. Therefore, I add two scoops of the supplement in 20 oz of water and a few ice cubes. Your sweetness and caffeine tolerance level decide how much Amino supplement would be enough for you.

Amino Energy’s Calorie Content

calorie content in Amino
What is Amino Energy’s Calorie Content?

Each dose of ON’s Amino supplement, which is two scoops, contains five calories and no added sugar. However, it won’t add much to your daily calorie intake.

According to the FDA, you should consume 2000 calories per day, but the exact amount depends entirely on your height and gender

As each serving contains only five to 10 calories, Amino Energy won’t make you gain weight. However, you must make sure you use it moderately.

Is ON’s Essential Amino Energy Sugar-free?

sugar in Amino energy
Contrary to most energy drinks, ON’s Amino Energy Supplement does not contain natural sugar.

ON’s Amino Energy supplement doesn’t contain any sugar, however, it contains an artificial sweetener called Sucralose. In case you have safety concerns about Sucralose, let me assure you that it’s approved by the FDA. 

It’s advisable to use it as long as you’re not baking with it or putting it through any heating process.

If you’re wondering why ON’s Amino Energy, which is sugar-free, tastes so sweet, here’s all you need to know:

Amino Energy supplement has a very sweet taste because it contains an artificial sweetener. The sweetness of artificial sweeteners, like Sucralose, is 200 times greater than that of regular sugar. That’s the primary reason that the Amino Energy supplement tastes so sweet.

I’d recommend adding ice with 20 oz of water and two scoops (one serving) of the supplement. It’ll help balance the sweetness of the Amino Energy supplement. For me, it’s still too sweet yet tolerable somehow.

Is Essential Amino Energy contains amino acid?

Amino Energy has five grams of 14 amino acids, including taurine, L-glutamine, and L-arginine. It means you get one-third of one gram of each amino acid, which means each amino acid gives you very little energy.

Being an Amino Energy, its energy should be derived from amino acids instead of caffeine. But in this case, you get the most energy from caffeine instead of Amino acids.

One serving of Amino Energy supplement, in my opinion, shouldn’t contain 100g of caffeine. And here Amino Acids should be the main source of energy.

Final Thoughts

People with gluten sensitivity are more likely to face symptoms like stomach issues, foggy brain, and skin rashes. In this situation, you’re advised to consult your doctor. 

A doctor can advise you to test for Celiac disease. If you don’t have Celiac disease, you’re either allergic to wheat or have non-celiac gluten hypersensitivity. It’s advisable to eliminate gluten from your diet in any case.

After taking a closer look at the ingredients of the Amino supplement, we can say it’s gluten-free. It doesn’t contain any grain that contains a protein called gluten. People who’re sensitive to gluten should strictly follow a gluten-free diet.

In case, you’re concerned about your weight gain, let me tell you that Amino Energy contains only five calories per serving. So if you consume it in moderation, it won’t make you gain weight.