,

Is Adrenaline Shoc Gluten-Free? (In-Depth)

Adrenaline Shoc is one of many pre-workout energy drinks, known for its arsenal of electrolytes, BCAAs, and amino acids, all while providing no calories or sugar.

But considering that many people are adopting different diets like a gluten-free diet, how can you make sure that the ingredients in Adrenaline Shoc are gluten-free or fit for diets like this?

Short answer: Adrenaline Shoc does not contain any ingredients that suggest it contains barley, wheat, grain, or anything aggregated from gluten. This means that Adrenaline Shoc is good to consume for those practicing a gluten-free diet.

To learn more, let’s dig in into the details and information.

What is Gluten and a Gluten-Free Diet?

Before we determine if Adrenaline Shoc is perfectly fine for people who practice a gluten-free diet, we must first understand what gluten and gluten-free diet are.

Gluten is a protein found in grains like barley, wheat, and rye. Gluten protein has two different types, which are glutenin and gliadin. Gliadin is the factor responsible for most gluten health effects.

Gluten forms when mixed with water, and when the proteins form an elastic-like consistency, it provides a chewy texture to the bread.

Gluten is used for rising bread and giving it a chewy texture.

Gluten-free diet, however are for people who want to avoid or have celiac disease. This diet is also practiced to relieve the symptoms of celiac disease and improve their overall health.

Just like any diet, there are pros and cons that come alongside it. Here are a few of them:

Gluten-Free Diet Pros:

  • Treat celiac and gluten sensitivity
  • Choice of foods focus on whole foods
  • Improves lactose intolerance
  • Decrease in carbohydrate consumption
  • Eliminates high-calorie carbohydrates

Gluten-Free Diet Cons:

  • Gluten-free products don’t provide the same nutrients as products with gluten to people who do intense physical activities
  • It may harm nutrient intake
  • Anemia may be common
  • Food choices are limited

Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is when gluten damages the small intestine and causing diarrhea and abdominal pain. That’s why people who experience these symptoms avoid products that have gluten in them.

Celiac disease occurs when a person eats a food with gluten. The proteins in gluten then triggers the villi, a finger-like projections that is the wall of the small intestine, making it hard for the small intestine to absorb the nutrients of the food.

This can lead to malnourishment and loss of bone density, miscarriage, infertility or even neurological diseases, or certain cancers.

For more information about gluten free diet, here’s a video about it:

Generally, energy drinks don’t contain any by-products of wheat, barley, or rye unless stated. Energy Drinks usually focuses on caffeine, sugar, or any ingredients or minerals that may have energizing proponents.

But it’s not also entirely certain that some ingredients are gluten-free. Because some manufacturing plants may also process wheat products and traces of gluten could be found due to cross-contamination.

Still, if you’re unsure about whether your food is gluten-free or not, you can check out this list by celiac.org to guide you on identifying your food’s gluten status.

Adrenaline Shoc Nutrition Facts

Now let’s take a look at Adrenaline Shoc’s Nutrition Facts:

Standard ServingsAdrenaline Shoc Energy
(16 fl.oz)
Energy0 Calories
Protein0g
Fat
(Of which Saturated)
0g
(0g)
Carbohydrate
(Of which Sugars)
0g
(0g)
Sodium105mg
Caffeine300mg
Potassium52mg
Magnesium11mg
Vitamin B3
(Niacin)
8mg
Vitamin B60.9mg
Vitamin B9
(Folic Acid)
50μg
Vitamin B12Unstated

Based on the table, we can see that Adrenaline Shoc is quite a strong energy drink because of its caffeine content of 300mg for just one serving. This is really close to the daily intake limit and is something to look out for.

Adrenaline Shoc Ingredients

Now we have the definition of gluten and gluten-free out of the way, let’s take a closer look into Adrenaline Shoc’s ingredients and dissect how each of them is considered gluten.

  • Carbonated filtered water
  • Citric acid
  • Sodium citrate
  • Natural caffeine (green coffee beans)
  • Potassium phosphate (electrolyte)
  • L-Leucine
  • Magnesium chloride (electrolyte)
  • L-Valine
  • L-Isoleucine
  • L-Lysine
  • L-Histidine
  • Sea salt (ocean mineral electrolyte)
  • Sucralose (artificial sweetener)
  • L-Phenylalanine
  • Acesulfame potassium (artificial sweetener)
  • L-Threonine
  • L-Tryptophan
  • L-Methionine
  • Natural flavor
  • Niacinamide (vitamin B3)
  • Potassium chloride (electrolyte)
  • Ginseng root extract
  • Pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6)
  • Coenzyme Q-10
  • Coffee fruit extract
  • Guarana seed extract
  • Folic acid (vitamin B9)
  • Yerba mate extract
  • Cyanocobalamin (vitamin B12)
Adrenaline Shoc Energy Drink Ingredients
Adrenaline Shoc Ingredients

These ingredients are either synthesized or found in natural sources, which means that they are unlikely to contain wheat, rye, or barley. Thus making Adrenaline Shoc safe to drink or incorporate in a gluten-free diet.

For a more in-depth look at the ingredients of Adrenaline Shoc, have a look at my article detailing Adrenaline Shoc’s caffeine and ingredients, for a better understanding of what goes into every can.

Caffeine in Adrenaline Shoc

We all know by now that all energy drinks have caffeine in them including Adrenaline Shoc, which has 300mg per 16 fl.oz.

Adrenaline Shoc contains a whopping 300mg of caffeine and is close to the daily limit intake advised by FDA. By that, consuming too much caffeine may result in some side effects like:

  • Palpitation
  • Insomnia
  • Anxiety
  • Jittery
  • Hallucinations

That’s why drinking in moderation is your best choice to avoid any adverse effects from caffeine.

Now the question, is caffeine gluten-free?

Caffeine is completely gluten-free. It’s even vegan because caffeine is sourced from beans, some leaves, and even Guarana berries.

Now caffeine may be alarming at times, but it also has some potential benefits too:

  • Weight Loss
  • Alertness
  • Sports performance
  • Decrease fatigue
  • Improve memory

To know more about caffeine, here’s a video about it:

National Geographic video about caffeine

Artificial Sweeteners in Adrenaline Shoc

Adrenaline Shoc is sugar-free.It’s sweet taste is instead derived from artificial sweeteners, namely, Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium or Ace K.

These artificial sweeteners are synthetically made, which means that they are essentially gluten-free friendly.

Artificial Sweetener image
Artificial Sweeteners

Artificial sweeteners have become popular for manufacturers to use as a sugar substitute. With some using as a compelling move to appeal to health-conscious audiences.

That’s because people often use artificial sweeteners to avoid health risks like diabetes and weight gain, which may happen from excessive sugar intake. artificial sweeteners are also noncaloric and prove no effect in gaining extra weight.

Other Ingredients in Adrenaline Shoc

Is Citric Acid Gluten-Free?

Citric acid is found in citrus fruits like oranges, lemons, limes, etc. When made artificially, it’s also used as a food additive and is 100% gluten-free.

Because of its sour nature, citric acid is commonly used as a preserving agent for candies and soft drinks. But it is mostly known for stabilizing medicines and fight off viruses and bacterias.

Orange slices
Citric acid is commonly found in citrus fruits like oranges.

In this case of Adrenaline Shoc, it is perfectly suitable for a gluten-free diet since this ingredient is sourced in citrus foods, and is not derived from gluten products.

Is Yerba Mate Extract Gluten-Free?

Yerba mate is a herb derived from the Ilex paraguariensis plant. It is naturally gluten-free and is rich in antioxidants and nutrients.

Some of the health benefits you can get from Yerba mate extract includes:

  • Can boost mental energy and improve mental focus
  • Enhance physical performance
  • Protection from infections
  • Lowers blood sugar levels
  • Lower risk of heart disease

Which then again concludes that this ingredient is gluten-free and will unlike to cause any adverse effects for people who avoid or have celiac disease.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors are from various sources like animals and plant materials used to flavor food. They are most likely to be gluten-free unless wheat, rye, barley are included in the ingredients.

To know more about natural flavors, watch this video:

Other Gluten-Products

If you’re still skeptical about Adrenaline Shoc being a certified gluten-free products, you can always do your own research or look up other energy drinks that are gluten-free friendly.

I’ve listed down some energy drinks that are gluten-free that you might consider:

Although it is undeniable that being on a gluten-free diet may be hard due to limited choices of foods, there are still plenty of substitutes and alternatives to foods that are fit for your gluten-free diet.

You can check this list by celiac.org to check your product’s gluten-free status.

Final Thoughts

Considering the ingredients in Adrenaline Shoc, it’s safe to say that this drink is gluten-free and may be incorporated in gluten-free diets.

Now, all in all, while it’s unnecessary if you happen to be a relatively healthy individual, a gluten-free diet may be a great way to shift into a healthier lifestyle. Even though there are restrictions on a diet, there are still options to enjoy your diet.

Adrenaline Shoc is designed with gluten-free friendly ingredients and doesn’t add extra sugar or calories because it has none to start with. But be mindful, it’s high caffeine content may not be worth it, even if it’s gluten-free.

I personally think Adrenaline Shoc is alright to add to any diet as long as you consume it moderately and don’t go overboard on your daily caffeine intake.

Related Articles:

About Adrian Carter

Adrian writes about energy drinks and their ingredients to shine a light on the facts behind the brand names.

Previous

Is Reign Energy Drink Vegan? (And More)

Where Can You Buy G Fuel Cans? (Buying Guide)

Next