Skip to Content

Is Extra Joss Vegan? (Find Out)

No, the Royal jelly, an ingredient of Extra Joss makes the drink non-vegan.

It is a real trouble to select any eatables for the ones who follow a vegan diet. Similar is the case with energy drinks. The ingredients in them may be vegan or not. Here, we are concerned about the Extra Joss if it is vegan or not.

Extra Joss is formulated to revitalize an active lifestyle mind. Enough to get you through your work day. It is a good pre-workout supplement with a delicious tropical fruit flavor. Also, a good thing about it is that it’s free of sugar.

The active ingredients in Extra Joss give a synergistic effect in boosting metabolism, enhancing cognitive abilities, improving your endurance and combat weariness, and fastening the reaction time.

Extra Joss sachet
Extra Joss sachet

Each pack of Extra Joss contains 6 servings of sachets which can make a 300 ml effervescent drink. Just put it into a glass of water and drink it.

Extra Joss serves a wide range of people with various lives, including entrepreneurs, athletes, and even college students. It’s not a surprise that this brand has achieved such a remarkable market reach.

Is this energy drink, however, versatile enough to accommodate people on various diets and eating schedules, particularly vegans?

A quick answer to that is Extra Joss is not vegan since it contains royal jelly, which is made from honey. The Royal jelly has long been a controversial topic among vegans.

As a result, I don’t believe Extra Joss can or should be labeled as vegan-friendly.

Ingredients in Extra Joss energy drink

Ingredients info on the pack of Extra Joss
Ingredients in Extra Joss

Extra Joss contains the following ingredients in each sachet;

  • Ginseng Extract
  • Royal Jelly
  • Taurine
  • Caffeine
  • Vitamin B2
  • Vitamin B3
  • Vitamin B5
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B9
  • Vitamin B12

Nutritional Facts of Extra Joss

Extra Joss has no calories and carbs in it. All the nutrients in the energy drink come from the B vitamins and caffeine in the Energy drink.

NutrientsAmount Per ServingRecommended Daily Intake
Calories02000-2500
Protein0g50g
Carbohydrates0g300g
Caffeine50mg400mg
Vitamin B23mg1.7mg
Vitamin B316mg20mg
Vitamin B55mg10mg
Vitamin B61.5mg2mg
Vitamin B9100mcg400mcg
Vitamin B121mcg6mcg
Nutritional facts of Extra Joss

Are All Ingredients in Extra Joss Vegan-friendly?

To find out whether Extra Joss is vegan friendly or not, we have to go through its ingredients. This will tell whether they come from a vegetarian source or not?

Caffeine

Coffee beans spread on a surface
Coffee beans

Extra Joss contains 50 milligrams of caffeine per serving.

Caffeine’s sole purpose in energy drinks is to make you feel energized and keep you focused and alert.

Caffeine is a vegan-friendly ingredient. It is a plant compound derived from coffee fruit or tea leaves. Caffeine stimulates the central nervous system by blocking the adenosine receptors, these hormones are released when you are tired.

Caffeine blocks them and masks the feeling of fatigue with more alert brain functions. This video explains how caffeine works:

Caffeine working

FDA recommends a daily intake of up to 400 milligrams of caffeine to avoid any health risks. Extra Joss only has 50 milligrams of caffeine so even if you drink like 2 or 3 sachets of it you will not experience any of these following health effects. However, it does depends on your caffeine tolerance.

  • Jitters
  • Dehydration
  • Vomiting
  • Nausea
  • Irregular heartbeat.

Ginseng Extract

Each sachet contains 35 milligrams of Ginseng extract.

Ginseng is a plant-based and completely vegan ingredient. It’s well-known for its anti-oxidant and anti-inflammatory benefits.

It may also aid in the control of blood glucose levels and may be useful for the treatment of some malignancies. Furthermore, Ginseng may help to strengthen the immune system, improve brain function, and reduce fatigue.

Taurine

Taurine, which is found in energy drinks, is vegan. Although taurine is only found naturally in meat, the majority of taurine nowadays is synthesized.

Taurine supplements made from synthetic amino acids are readily accessible and appropriate for vegetarians and vegans.

Taurine is a sulfur compound that serves several purposes in the human body. It’s only present in animal-based foods naturally, but it’s also accessible as a synthetic supplement.

Furthermore, the most well-known energy drink brands, like Monster, Red Bull, and Rockstar, have all said that their taurine is vegan.

Royal Jelly

Royal jelly is a milky substance produced by worker honey bees. It has many medicinal and aesthetic benefits. Royal Jelly has a high nutritional value and it is:

  • Anti-Bacterial
  • Anti-oxidant
  • Anti-inflammatory

Royal Jelly, is not vegan because it comes from bees, an animal derivative that’s why it should be exempted from a vegan diet.

B vitamins

B vitamins are a major source of energy in our diet and are very much available to us through our daily diet. Energy drinks also contain a lot of B vitamins which are used to metabolize the sugar and proteins in your system to produce energy.

B vitamins are water-soluble hence your body cannot store them for later use. So, you must consume it every day to complete your nutrition.

Extra Joss contains the following B vitamins to boost your energy levels and these B vitamins can be obtained from Vegan sources as well:

B-VitaminsFunctions
Vitamin B2It is necessary for growth and development
Vitamin B3Fuels our bodies with the food we consume
Vitamin B5The production of adrenal stress hormone is crucial for proper immune function
Vitamin B6Red blood cells are produced by this vitamin.
Vitamin B9Cell growth is dependent upon healthy growth factors
Vitamin B12Helps in the maintenance of a healthy nervous system
Functions of B vitamin Present in Extra Joss

Does it actually work?

This product has just 50 mg of caffeine per serving, which is incredibly low. Not just because of the caffeine, but also because of the taurine content, you will feel invigorated for a few hours after taking it.

Plus, there are much more benefits associated with it. You will not experience a sugar crash because it has no sugar.

Extra Joss contains not just caffeine, but also Ginseng extract and Royal jelly, both of which help you feel more energized. It will take three to four hours for the impact to wear off.

Extra joss’ caffeine concentration does not provide a long-lasting energy boost, especially if you’re used to consuming large amounts of caffeine.

Is it bad for you?

No Extra Joss is not bad for you as long as you consume it responsibly.

If you are not a vegetarian it may not be a bad way to pump your energy levels. It can provide you with a surge of energy and increase your physical performance because of its 50 milligrams of caffeine.

Also, it’s being sugar-free, zero-calorie, and having B-vitamin content serves the purpose. You’ll only get the good things out of this caffeinated powdered supplement if you use it in moderation.

Is Extra Joss Vegan?

After taking a look at its ingredients you can also agree that Extra Joss is not vegan at all.

Although it is keto-friendly since there is no sugar and no carbs in it. If you are following a strict vegan diet, then Extra joss is not for you.

There are a lot of other energy drinks in the market that is certified vegetarian.

Vegan Alternatives to Extra Joss

Redbull

Red Bull is the most famous brand of energy drink in the market which is also vegan friendly. The typical ingredients include Taurine, Caffeine, Sugar, and B vitamins to revitalize and strengthen your brain functions.

Rockstar

Rockstar is another renowned brand of energy drinks that gives you energy pleasantly and naturally. It is a vegan-friendly energy drink containing Caffeine, Vitamin B, Plant extracts (Ginseng, Ginkgo Biloba, Guarana)Taurine, and sweeteners.

Emerge

Emerge energy drink has a refreshing taste and it is a completely vegan energy drink. Its 50 ml serving contains 75 milligrams of caffeine.

Along with caffeine, it also contains B vitamins, Sugar, and Taurine to give you the energy you need.

Conclusion

Extra Joss has no sugar, no calories, and a decent amount of caffeine (50 milligrams) making it a Jitter-free energy drink. But not being vegan-friendly, the drink is not good for vegans.

Due to the presence of Royal jelly, an animal derivative, it is prohibited in a vegan diet. However, if you are not vegan you can try it without thinking about added sugar and calories.

Other Notable Mentions

Other Related Articles